The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

Itty bitty March 13, 2011

Filed under: Building a life — Happy Nappy Bride @ 5:44 pm
Tags:

When I bought my house, I was a single lady and had only been dating The Mister for a few months.  Fast forward a couple of years and now we’re married and my cute little single-lady house is home to me, The Mister, and his little girly.

Now you’d think our little house would be too small for three people, but it’s actually okay.  My heart sometimes tries to tell me that I want a big ole house with tons of bedrooms and bathrooms (that usually happens after I go to a family members home that is fab!), but my head says that we don’t need it!  We want to save so that we’re comfortable when we’re old and can’t work to earn money…which means holding back during this time.

I thought of all of this after reading an article in the Sunday paper today titled, Much Less Is More, which talked about small houses.  Their definition was anything from 300 – 1,000 square feet.  Why so small?  It’s cheaper, less wasteful, and allow their owners financial freedom.  Our house is about 1,200 sq. ft., not including our attic or basement.  Most certainly a small house.

Anyhoo, here are some pics I found of tiny/small houses at tinyhouseblog.com:

This house maxes out at 400 sq. ft.

This cabin is 2 bedroom, 2 bath…and only 681 sq. ft.

This last house is 600 square feet and only cost $56k

I know that living in a small space isn’t going to be everyone’s cup of tea, but think about smaller house notes…and what you could do with the loot you saved!  Whether it’d be taking trips, buying nice things for yourself, or saving up for your future…I think it’s something to think about.

With  the recent recession, it’s no longer a status symbol to have a gargantuan house that you can barely afford.  Now it’s cool to be a good steward of our money.

So, do you think that you could live like this?

 

6 Responses to “Itty bitty”

  1. Frugalista Says:

    I lived in about 415 by myself for 5 years! By the end of it I was so OVER it! I craved and desired space more then anything!! Now that I got more I’m so much happier. Granted, our house is not huge @1800 sf but it’s plenty enough for the two of us. I’m not trying to be extravagant I was just tired of being cramped. Being conservative does pay off in the end though. You are being smart!

  2. K. Rock Says:

    Whoa thos houses are ittly bitty. I consider our current house rather small. We definitely need more space. But we both agreed that we dont want a really big house. The fact that our house is som small makes us all hang together as a family. I like it. The bigger the house, the more space the kids have not to hang with you.

  3. Mrs. K Says:

    I think hubby and I would be able to live in a small house but with the size family that we want that wouldn’t be feasible. When we start having kids I think some space would be good. It doesn’t have to be ridiculously large thought.


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 52 other followers