The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

sanity December 18, 2009

Filed under: Conspiracy theories — Happy Nappy Bride @ 10:40 pm
Tags: , ,

I was kinda hoping that by having this blog, that I’d be able to keep from driving The Mister crazy with all of my wedding talk.  You see, right after he first asked me, I got super busy with work.  So I wasn’t able to properly obsess over wedding deets and whatnot and I’d promised myself that I’d obsess when I had more time.

But then when I had more time, I really didn’t need to obsess.

I mean, let’s keep it real…there’s no way to have a cheap wedding (believe me, I tried to figure it out!), but I don’t really need to be in full crazy, obsessive mode until May.  My heart can’t take it and I’m sure The Mister can’t.  We’ve got the ceremony place, we’ve got the reception place, I’ve got a dress…

Okay, he doesn’t have a suit, nor has he given me his addresses for the save the dates…but a few deep breaths keep me from worrying about that too much.

Anyhoo, the conspiracy theorist in me wonders of the wedding industry needs brides to obsess about details that aren’t vital.  Nice, perhaps…but vital, no way.  What if, and I’m just wondering out loud here, but what if those folks that are making whoseits and whatsits for wedding favors are in cahoots with the wedding magazine people?  I mean, the magazine people need ads right?  And the whoseit and whatsit people need a place to sell their stuff right?  Could it be that they’ve thought up this whole “need” to have certain things at your wedding.

I’m not saying…I’m just saying.

I’ve got nothing against favors, we’re gonna use our centerpieces as favors, that was just an example…insert “vital, necessary wedding whoseit” in there if you’re fired up about favors.  The idea is that when you read those magazines, they make you feel like your wedding will s-u-c-k if you don’t have their stuff.  That’s just not true.  What would s-u-c-k?: your fiance not showing up, the officiant not showing up, forgetting to put on your dress and walking down the aisle naked (but if I had a body like Beyonce, I’d seriously think about it!)…I’m sure I can think of more things, but you get the idea.

I will continue to buy the wedding mags, because I can playa!  I’m gonna be a bride!  But I’m on to you crazy wedding folks and while I love your super pretty pics of super pretty people having super pretty weddings, I’m not drinking the kool aid.

 

3 Responses to “sanity”

  1. Patti Says:

    I wish I was one of those super budget brides that could say with a straight face that favors are a waste of money, blah blah blah. But I cant. Becuase I loooved our favors. (I think) they were more expensive than initially planned, but they were a HUGE hit. We only brought a few home, and I had to fight my mama and a groomsman to keep one that was half eaten – lol.

    So, from what I can tell, your idea for favors/centerpieces sounds lovely. And since you want want it, and have figured out a way to fit in it the budget, then to me its all good 🙂

  2. […] Industrial Complex (WIC): Sanity was about my conspiracy theory that the wedding vendors and bridal magazines are in cahoots, and I […]


Leave a Reply

