The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

paper! December 20, 2009

Filed under: Details — Happy Nappy Bride @ 8:13 am
Tags: ,

Discussion from yesterday:

Dawn: Oh my God, the paper’s here!

The Mister: What?

Dawn:  Paper! Paper! Paper!

The Mister: What are you talking about?

Dawn: Paper! Paper! Paper!

The Mister: *shakes head*

Dawn: *dancing* *jumping* *clapping*

Before July 25th (the big ask), I promise I wouldn’t have been so fired up about a package filled with blank paper…mostly because I wouldn’t have ordered a package full of blank paper.  Now it’s cause for dancing, hooting, and hollering.  We’re having a frugal (but classy, thank you very much) wedding.  That means we’re doing a lot of the details ourselves.  But not in a true DIYer way…because I have neither the time nor the inclination to be cutting and pasting invitations together.

I’ve got a graphic designer friend who’s designed all of our stationary for an incredibly cheap price and we’ll order nice paper online and print it at a Kinko’s or something like that.  It’ll save a significant amount of money without skimping on the niceness of the stationary.

Just last week I’d gone through this routine.  Got the paper, took it to Kinko’s, they printed off the samples for me, and I brought them home to show to The Mister.  He picked his fave (he’s got surprisingly good taste) and all was well with the world.  Or so he thought!  I was like, well if he likes that one…why don’t we order five more that are just like that one (but different!) and make him choose again?!  Ah…the joys of wedding planning.

Anyhoo, though I don’t have the finished product yet, I’d totally recommend this way of doing things.  I had the designer create save the dates, invites & reply cards, thank you’s, programs, and maps…very cheaply.  The paper and envelopes can be found online at any number of websites and you can go to Kinko’s or Staples or whatever and have them print & cut the paper for you.

For you brides out there who want things done well, want them done nicely, but want them done frugally…this is a great option!

 

2 Responses to “paper!”

  1. […] Tags: frugal, wedding So if you’ll remember my (somewhat) embarrassing joy over getting my paper samples for my invitations, it’s only been surpassed by my excitement about my […]

  2. […] we’ve finally picked out (but not ordered yet) our invitation/reply card/thank you’s paper and envelopes so I’m pretty excited about that.  We probably won’t put our pics on the […]


Leave a Reply

