The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

reception centerpieces December 20, 2009

Filed under: Details — Happy Nappy Bride @ 8:53 pm
Tags: , , ,

As I’ve said before, I enjoy my wedding magazines.  They’re an addiction, maybe one day I’ll put up a picture of Mt. Bridal Magazine.  I can justify it though, because I got this idea for our centerpieces from a British wedding mag so that totally makes my magazine consumption worthwhile.

Anyhoo, these cute little containers are representative of what I’ll use for our centerpieces.  I’m ordering flowers wholesale, but I really wanted real flowers and I want a lot of flowers…so wholesale is the way to go.  It took me a few trips to antique shops (where the owners would without fail ask why I was buying so many of these things), Goodwill & Salvation Army stores to get enough for all of the tables.  And since they’ll double as favors for the guests, I needed enough for them too.  After one of my (many) trips to get more of these, The Mister was finally like, don’t you think you have enough?  I have, well, a lot of them.

What’s that I hear?  That’s the voice of reason…stop going to the store Dawn.  But I’m excited about these cute, little containers.  I like that they’re all different and not all matchy-matchy.  I think that they’ll look beautiful (bee-you-tee-ful!) in the old Victorian mansion where we’re holding our reception.

Anyhoo, I’ve got two major DIY projects.  One is for the ceremony and we’ll talk about that later and the other is doing flowers for the wedding and reception.  That means bouquets, boutonnieres, corsages, centerpieces, and ceremony site.  A wonderful do-it-yourself with the bridesmaids!  There are lots of wholesale places online…and I’ve heard that Sam’s and Costco also have fresh flowers.  I haven’t checked into it, but I’ve also heard that they’ll special order flowers as well.

I love flowers.  They make me smile.  I know that’s stereotypically female, but it’s true.  So I decided early on that it was worth the expense of getting nice, real flowers.  Then I saw how much florists were charging and I put my thinking cap on.  I realized that I didn’t need someone to make the flowers look pretty…they’re flowers!  They’re already pretty!  I just needed flowers…and lots of them.   So I’m doing the wholesale route and the flowers (with those snappy-looking containers above) will be the only decorations for the reception site.

I look at other people’s wedding websites and they’re doing/building/creating all sorts of stuff…surely we can put some flowers in containers and make bouquets and whatnot.  Right?  Right? So, in my efforts to have a sane, practical, and fun wedding…this all seems to fit that criteria.

 

2 Responses to “reception centerpieces”

  1. Geneva Gard Says:

    Oh, yes, these are perfect!!! I agree totally that it is much better to let the guest have one of these than anything else you could secure from one of “those places” Love, gg


Leave a Reply

