The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

monkeys are cute too December 28, 2009

Filed under: Black weddings — Happy Nappy Bride @ 8:18 pm
Tags: , ,

This is Cody and he belongs to my brother and his family.  I think Cody is super cute, super fun, and just all around great.  But I don’t want a dog.  I really like playing with other people’s dogs, but I know that I do not want a dog.  Do not.

That’s kind of how I feel about a lot of the things I see in wedding magazines and blogs and whatnot.  I really like seeing all of the things that folks are doing, but I do not want to do them.  Do not.

I’m very excited about the things that The Mister and I have planned for our wedding, I think it’s going to be unique and fun and classy.  I think it’ll be different and I think that’s a good thing.  I’m not keen on decorating for the heck of it or because other folks have done it before…you know what I mean?  I don’t want to have our wedding be about other’s expectations of what “a wedding” should be.

But the other side of this thought is I still want people to have fun…and will they have fun at our quirky wedding?  I worry what they’ll think about the ceremony decorations, and the tea-length dress, and all of the other stuff that we’re doing that’s a bit different.  I know it’s weird to worry about things that 1) I can’t control and 2) we’re gonna do anyway, but I do.

 

2 Responses to “monkeys are cute too”

  1. sister n law Says:

    From what you’ve shown me, your wedding will be beautiful and a true representation of you and “the Mister.” Hmmm… I am certainly no expert, but remember the most important thing about your wedding is that you and the man you love will be making a commitment to one another in front of God first, then friends and family. What others think of the cosmetic aspects of your wedding is not relevant… and that goes for everyone. (Yeah, I know that’s a risky statement, but it’s true….) Can I get an amen!


Leave a Reply

