The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

mbm… January 2, 2010

Filed under: Conspiracy theories — Happy Nappy Bride @ 10:32 pm
Tags: , ,

…or Mt. Bridal Magazine.  I admit it, I’m addicted.  I can’t stop buying them.  It’s a shame really because they’re expensive, I should probably add a line item to my wedding budget.  Perhaps I’ll call it “ridiculous & nonsensical spending”…that sounds about right.

Do you notice anything about the covers?  Besides the fact that there are twenty-seven (eek!) of them (and keeping it real, I’ve got three more in my workout bag)?  No women of color.  Nope.  Nada.  Click on the picture to get a better look…seriously, go ahead.

It’s like I said in the Princess Tiana post, it seems like there’s a concerted effort to ignore the Black bride.  Is it that we’re not pretty enough according to the wedding industry?  Is it that the industry thinks that we’re not spending money (because we are!)?  Surely it’s not because they can’t find Black folks that are getting married…so what’s really going on?

I don’t have the answers, but I’d sure like to explore it further.

 

8 Responses to “mbm…”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I was addicted to bridal magazines too! They’re actually the reason why I started my blog. I just felt like brides of color are really underrepresented in this industry and that needs to change.

    • dknytx Says:

      What do you think is going on? I think it’s pretty crazy. Of course I just looked thru the new InStyle Weddings and Zoe Saldana’s in there, Rip Hamilton (of the Detroit Pistons) is in there with his new wife, and Nick Cannon & Mariah Carey are in there b/c they renewed their vows. So that’s something at least.

  2. KaEEah Says:

    Baby steps DK, baby steps. Geez, we get a First Lady and a Princess last year and now you want magazine covers?! LOL. Now, if we can only figure out how to get Oprah to feature the bridal industry’s non-inclusive imagery on her show before she goes off air….

  3. Erin Says:

    I agree with you ladies. Maybe we can write a letter to the editors of the bridal magazines and out them on the spot!


Leave a Reply

