The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

it’s time January 3, 2010

Filed under: Details — Happy Nappy Bride @ 5:54 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’ve always loved to workout.  I was a pretty good athlete back in the day, able to play at the Division One level, so I understand working hard.  But beyond that, I just enjoy working out.  I enjoy putting workouts together, setting goals, and (of course) accomplishing them.  Not to sound too much like Dr. Seuss, but I enjoy working out with weights, working out on machines, working out on the roads (running), just working out anywhere.

Every January I put together a six and a twelve week lifting program.  That takes me to the spring/summer when it’s nice enough to hit the roads and run.  I’ve run marathons (that “s” is a lie…it was just one), half-marathons, 10k’s and 5k’s.  It’s fun stuff to me.  I say all of that because I don’t want people to think that I’m one of “those ladies” who are just working out to look good for one day…but now I am kinda.

I’m not normally, but I’ve never had to work out in order to get ready to parade myself in front of everyone I know.  That’s a little different…and a bit daunting.  I’m not going to try and act like I’m thin because I work so hard, it’s just the genes I inherited.  I’m also not going to try to act like I haven’t put on a few lbs. lately…’cause I have.  Suffice it to say that this year’s workout plan will be a bit more detailed and I’ll be sure to document my workouts much more closely.

I’ve got big, thick legs…always have.   So I lift legs pretty hard twice a week because I figure if I’m going to have big ole legs, they might as well be slammin’ big ole legs.  My arms go a little nutty with too much lifting (well past Michelle Obama to scary bodybuilding lady), so I lift them once a week at the same time that I lift chest & shoulders.  That’s three days of lifting, two of which are legs only.  Day four is abs & cardio.  Days five & six are cardio as well.  Then typically I switch to running and I’ll do abs everyday.

The one change I may make is switching from running to workout classes at my gym this year.  Because of all of the sports I’ve done in the past, my knees are junk and typically I’m always a bit gimpy from running.  But I was kind of thinking that I shouldn’t be limping down the aisle to see The Mister…that song, “Here Comes The Bride” will cease to be a statement and become a question as everyone prays I can make it down!

 

7 Responses to “it’s time”

  1. Amy Says:

    I’m all about working out right about now too!

  2. […] 2010 Filed under: Details — dknytx @ 2:02 pm Tags: working out …I’m so sore!  Workout 2010 has begun!  Ugh.   Leave a […]

  3. MIchelle Says:

    hey could you make a little lifting plan as well,lol!! Pretty please? I was trying to coordinate when I should do muscle training, trying to get back in to the cardio, going to step class today and found zumba classes near my house. I need to motivation to stay on this workout path! I mean as if you aren’t busy enough;)

    • dknytx Says:

      Yeah girl, we need to talk so that I can find out what you’ve been doing…I don’t want you to be like me and not be able to move! 🙂

  4. […] before that the wedding had brought about jitters about getting into shape and I’d upped my workout plans.  That picture above shows my workout essentials.  Bottom right is a roller.  I wet set my […]

  5. […] my wedding workout and trying to whip myself into shape for the big day…you can read about it here.  I’ll admit to not keeping up with it, I can honestly say that I haven’t been to the […]


Leave a Reply

