The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

hair is no excuse January 9, 2010

Filed under: Black weddings — Happy Nappy Bride @ 5:01 pm
Tags: , , ,

I can’t remember when I heard this, I just know it wasn’t at home because we don’t get the Steve Harvey radio show here.  But I was listening and they were talking about diabetes and hypertension (two diseases that dispropotionately affect Black folks) and extoling the virtues of exercise.  And I was shocked when ladies kept calling in to say that they don’t work out because they don’t want to mess up their hair.

I’m sorry, what?  You’re risking your health and life so that your hair can stay tight?  Something seems amazingly wrong about that line of thinking.  I mean, I get it, you paid to get it done and you don’t want to sweat it out as soon as you plop down that money…but isn’t keeping your health together (and body tight!) worth it?

Anyhoo, I’d told you guys before that the wedding had brought about jitters about getting into shape and I’d upped my workout plans.  That picture above shows my workout essentials.  Bottom right is a roller.  I wet set my hair on rollers and they last pretty much any type of workout…and I sweat a bunch!  Next are the bobby pins which I’ve found to be essential to keeping the hair looking nice after the workout…I can’t be worried about my curls falling onto my sweaty forehead and then falling flat.  Then of course there’s the stretchy elastic headband…keeps me from getting too hot from hair all over the place.  Finally my workout book.  I make one every year,  but this year I put different motivational phrases and quotations on it.

So the moral of the story is that your hair is no excuse not to workout.  Just don’t expect it to be bone straight afterwards.  If you stuck your hand into my cute curls after a workout, the hair might just reach up and grab your hand, lol!  But embrace the naps…love the naps…be a happy nappy…learn to live happily nappily ever after!

Your health will thank you and your body will be smokin!

 

2 Responses to “hair is no excuse”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I’m not gonna lie, I’ve definitely used that excuse on more than one occasion. But I really am trying to stay in shape these days so now if I’ve just gotten my hair done and don’t want to sweat out my hard earned money, I lay of cardio for a bit and stick to weights and the Wii Fit yoga and strength exercises.


Leave a Reply

