The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

who’s a winner? January 10, 2010

Filed under: Details — Happy Nappy Bride @ 5:23 pm
Tags: ,

This girl!!  *clapping* *twirling*

I went to a bridal show with The Mister, his daughter, and her grandma this afternoon and let me tell you:  it was complete chaos.  Complete.  There were people everywhere.  There were vendors everywhere.  There were women everywhere.  And the few poor men in there looked miserable…except The Mister, who has his own business that might line up with the wedding industry so he was interested from a business point of view.

I’d read on another blog that the wedding industry loves the holidays (Thanksgiving thru New Year’s) because that’s when most ladies get engaged…and they must be on to something.  There were brides-to-be, moms, friends, sisters, nieces all over the place.  If you were female this afternoon, then I’m pretty sure you were at this bridal show.

I wasn’t even planning on going to this, but you know how sometimes others are so excited about something that it’s just plain nice to go along?  That was this situation.  We’re kind of far along in the planning process, so I was skeptical about actually needing to be there.

But guess what?

At the end of the fashion show (yes, there was a fashion show and I was happy to see that they had a Hispanic man & woman, a Black lady, and a plus-sized woman) I won a gift certificate for $250 for a wedding cake!  Woo hoo!  We’re not doing cake but cupcakes though…which turned out to be good, because the baker had four other weddings she’s doing on our wedding weekend.

$250 of free cupcakes means free cupcakes!  Plus, I just asked my mom to make two cheesecakes (turtle & sweet potato) because she makes the best cheesecakes known to man…even better than The Cheesecake Factory.  She’s the real deal!

Exclamation points all around!!  Yippee!!

 

14 Responses to “who’s a winner?”

  1. keshamonk Says:

    WHOOOOHOOOO!!!! Girl….I’m so happy for you until you would think that I won the dang gift certificate! Go ‘head! 😀

  2. Jhe'anell Says:

    Congratulations on your big win! That’s amazing – one more thing to cross of your list and subtract from the budget! lol

    As far as your response to my post, I share your sentiments as well with the “lack of color” in bridal magazines and wedding blogs. Perhaps we will see a change 🙂

    Thank you for always stopping by my little blog

    ( jin,the fabulous wife )

  3. Wow, congrats on the free baked goods! Those wedding shows are insane, I’m glad you came out of it alive and with a prize.

  4. Congratulations on your Engagement! You have entered the world of bride to be bliss and planning craze!! I hope the magazines, although they may not offer a lot of brides of color, magazines do assist you with a wide variety of information on venues, florist, invites, gowns and all the other details that will be filled in as you go along!

    Congrats on your win at the Bridal Show! Cupcakes have been replacing the cake for the big day more and more often! It seems to have a younger couple feel, but still gives the wedding reception the edge the couple is looking for! Great choice!!

    Much success to your planning!

    Check out my blog: Diary of A Planner! http://diaryofaplanner.blogspot.com

    Brittany

  5. Amy Says:

    Congrats on winning!! That is sooo awesome. I’m glad you got to experience the craziness that is a bridal show. It’s a “fun” experience to have while wedding planning + you get free cupcakes 🙂

    • dknytx Says:

      Girl, let me tell you…I can’t imagine I’ll be going to one of those again. But I have a feeling I’ll be hearing from all of those folks again since I had to leave my email address.

  6. Thelma Says:

    I wish i could try some of her cheesecake!


Leave a Reply

