The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

pearly whites January 11, 2010

Filed under: Details — Happy Nappy Bride @ 9:25 pm
Tags: , ,

Those items above are an incredibly large part of my life.  I’m sure you’re thinking, “Dawn, I believe that we all brush our teeth.”  But before The Mister asked me to marry him, I started down the Invisalign path to fix my teeth because they were, um, well…what’s the technical term?  Jacked up…yes, my teeth were jacked up.

It’s just a wonderful thing that I’d gotten started on this journey (and it has been a journey) before the Big Ask, because I wouldn’t want folks to think that I was doing this just for the wedding.  I mean, don’t get me wrong, I’m very happy that I’ll be finished with my treatment (and have a superfly smile) by then.  But for whatever reason, I don’t want people to think I’m one of “those ladies” who change everything about myself for the wedding.

Does anyone else have a thing like that?  I’ve got a girlfriend who lost a bunch of weight, but started losing before her now husband asked her to marry him.  She also expressed her pleasure at people not thinking that she’d lost just for him or for the wedding.

Is it because we (us ladies) still want to be independent?  Or is it because we’ve all had friends who either kicked us to the curb when they got a man or became completely different for a man?  Maybe it makes me feel better to be like, I was gonna do that anyway, so there. This whole wedding and marriage thing brings about a bit of an internal struggle…to become a Mrs. without losing the essence of who I am.

 

4 Responses to “pearly whites”

  1. Ghenet Says:

    I’m seriously thinking about having my dentist professionally whiten my teeth. My fiance’s teeth are SO much whiter than mine, it’s kind of embarrassing! (to me…maybe nobody else notices). Anyway, it’s an added expense but could be worth it for my own self-confidence lol.

  2. Cord Says:

    I’m new to reading your blogs and love it! Just going through them now and I love what you said about “Becoming a Mrs. without losing the essence of who I am” that’s a powerful statement and a struggle that I find myself in as well. I pray, it’ll all come together (as I’m sure it will) but “BIG DAY” is beginning to take on a whole new meaning for me…LOVE YOUR BLOGS!


Leave a Reply

