The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

my two cents January 13, 2010

Filed under: Staying sane — Happy Nappy Bride @ 9:58 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Okay…I’ve been a little postalicious today, but bear with me.  I think I’ve gotten wedding crazy.

You see, the original thought I had with the wedding was that we’d be frugal with it, keep it under control.  Not just because I’m cheap (which I am) but because I want to be a good steward of my money and I just can’t believe that that involves spending tens of thousands of dollars.

But these last couple of days, I’ve been straight up tripping!  That clutch that I really liked from jcrew…$200.  Those gorgeous Kate Spade’s…$300.  No I don’t think that’s going to break the bank, but I do think it’s against the spirit of the wedding I want us to have.  When I was driving home from work, I was like, Dawn you need to get it together sister. It’s like when you’re on a diet and you’ve been so good and finally you just lose it and have a Little Debbie snack cake (mmmm!)…I will not have this proverbial snack cake people!

Don’t get me wrong, if that clutch or those shoes were something I’d be able to wear for years to come, I could justify it.  But as cute as they both are, I think they’re one trick ponies.

I’ve been able to do so much (which I’m sure I’ll break down at some point) to keep this affair classy but frugal…from the dress to the all organic reception menu.  I can’t mess that up now, I’d be disappointed in myself because I don’t want it to be about how much I spend, but how I spend it.  Locally when possible, organically when possible…money spent for the group, not just on me.  I don’t know if that makes sense.  I don’t want to spend so much on myself because this wedding isn’t just about me…but about me and The Mister…and our families…and our friends.

Okay…I think I’m back on track.

(Don’t mind the ashy hands…it’s really cold up here and there’s only so much lotion I can put on in one day!)

 

4 Responses to “my two cents”

  1. mglphx Says:

    Wow! I would never have guessed that the clutch was $200 and the shoes $300! Cute as they both are, I’d think you were crazy for paying that much. Not because you don’t deserve to spoil yourself on your wedding day, but because you can find equally gorgeous things for a fraction of the price. I am completely addicted to shoes, it’s my weakness. But part of my shoe addiction is about finding really good deals. It’s my new mission to help you find an equally adorable pair for a much smaller price.

  2. Girl, that is not like eating a little debbie snack. that is like eating a whole pie (unless according to our budget.)

    Anyhow, I know how hard it is to stay under budget. I’ve been struggling with this, too.

    But I have found a lot of stuff close to my budget or under my budget on ebay, etsy, jcrew final sale, etc. You just have to search. And be willing to settle. It is very time consuming. It sucks. But your financial health is no joke.


Leave a Reply

