The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

makin’ it up January 16, 2010

Filed under: Details — Happy Nappy Bride @ 4:20 pm
Tags: , ,

There’s two things I wanted to talk about from my day today…okay, actually it’s three.

The first is that this picture was taken by some random lady at the mall today.  (you’ll see why that’s important later)

Second, I went to the mall today with the expressed purpose of getting makeup…for the wedding, but any other time I suppose too.  I intended to go with Prescriptives makeup because they have this program where they’ll create the foundation just for your skin…like they literally mix it up right there why you wait.  It’s pretty cool.  I’ve been using MAC, but their foundation is either too red or too orange so then I’ve got to just make it work.  I didn’t really want to do that for the wedding though, so off I went to the mall.  And since The Mister’s off in Vegas at his best man’s bachelor party (the BM’s getting married in July), I figured today would be a great time to spend a long time in the mall.

Anyhoo, Prescriptives.  I walk right up to the lady at the counter and tell her that I need some makeup.  She asks if I need foundation and powder and I say yup!  She then says that she doesn’t have bottles to make up the foundation.  I think, but don’t say, “isn’t that what you do here?.”  I say out loud, “but I need both.”  She just looks at me kind of crazy…and I look right back at her.  It’s like going to the donut shop (not that I know what that’s all about) and they don’t have any donuts!

I leave.

On the way out of the store, a Clinique lady (there were many, many of them!) sidles up next to me and asks if I’d be interested in some makeup.  I say all chipper, “that’s just want I came to the mall for!”  I got the full treatment: foundation, powder, blush, all sorts of eye shadow, eyeliner, mascara, and lipstick.  Since I don’t wear a lot of makeup usually, I felt like I looked like Homie the Clown (remember him from In Living Color?)…but then I remembered that folks always said that you should wear lots of makeup on your wedding day so that you don’t look washed out in the pics.  And from that picture above…they’re right.  I’m wearing a mess of makeup and you can’t really tell.

The last thing I wanted to tell you guys is that I clearly need to work on my smile.  I want it to be less:  HEEEEYY Y’AAALLL!  HOW YOU DOOOOING? And more: Why hello there ladies…however are you doing this lovely evening? And that was just cheesin’ at some lady I didn’t even know at the mall…how fired up am I going to be after the wedding?  That smile’s going to be all teeth and no face if I don’t watch it, lol!  Maybe I should practice.

 

6 Responses to “makin’ it up”

  1. Jhe'anell Says:

    This post is hilarious! You always make me laugh. I had to practice with my smile because I have big cheeks and when I smile too hard my eyes look extra small and beady…

    As a makeup artist I can tell you that you’re absolutely right about wearing makeup a little heavier for your wedding day. Mainly because your photographer will more than likely be using a HD Camera that will show every single possible flaw that we try to hide.

    Makeup Forever is a great line created especially for HD Photography that gives you lots of coverage without looking like Homie the Clown (lol) and as enough pigment to actually show on camera for Black skin

    —JIN, The Fabulous Wife
    http://www.jbride.blogspot.com

  2. mglphx Says:

    Your post made me laugh because about two and a half months ago I stopped at a donut shop to buy a dozen to share with co-workers (really, they were to share) and the place had maybe 8 donuts left, total. It was a very odd experience.

  3. mj Says:

    i love prescriptives too! the trouble with a custom blend is that its hard to get another batch the same exact way months later.
    one day when i couldnt get prescriptives, i got clinique. they do aight


Leave a Reply

