The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

a fly in the milk January 27, 2010

Filed under: Conspiracy theories — Happy Nappy Bride @ 12:27 pm
Tags:

Remember I wrote about how I won a gift certificate for our cupcakes at a bridal show?  It was for $250 and that covers two hundred cupcakes, a topcake, and cake stands…awesome.

What I didn’t talk about then is that I was one of only a handful of minority women at this show…it was weird.  Even The Mister noticed…he started pointing out Black folks, lol!  Rude, right?

Here’s a pic I took when we were there:

Is this why women of color are so underrepresented in wedding industry publications?  Perhaps we’re not thought of as “players” in the wedding industry?  Or is it worse…do they not care?  They know we’ve got to spend our money regardless of whether we see folks that look like us.  What do you think?

 

6 Responses to “a fly in the milk”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    lol! It’s like the chicken and the egg. Do they not market to us because we don’t attend the shows. Or, do we not attend the shows because they don’t market to us.

  2. Andrea Says:

    I think it’s a shame. This year I’ve been to 3 bridal shows and can count on one hand how many ladies of color that were in attendance. I find it quite rare for black couple to be featured in wedding advertisement. Whether it be for dresses, venues or even photography. My fiancé laughs at me a little when I shout out with excitement when I find a black couple featured in the real weddings section on the knot website.

  3. Tiffany In Houston Says:

    I went to the Bridal Show in Houston a couple of weeks ago and while it was predominately white, I did see a good amount of black and Hispanic brides. More than I expected actually. I didnt pay much attention to the fashion shows but when I did I was actually more excited because they had a plus size model showing off dresses. As I am a fluffy girl, it was nice to see the representation.


Leave a Reply

