The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

gather ’round folks… January 29, 2010

Filed under: Details — Happy Nappy Bride @ 10:51 am
Tags: , ,

…and experience the wonder of The Amazing Dawn!  She’ll regale you with slight of hand that will leave you speechless!

Check this out…it’s just a normal candle stick holder, correct?

And this looks just like a regular, everyday candle holder as well, yes?

And how about this plate?  It looks similar to what you ate dinner on last night, doesn’t it?

Now, watch closely as The Amazing Dawn transforms these simple items into…

…cake stands!

Isn’t that awesome?!  All I need is some of this:

I’m super excited about this do-it-yourself project because it’s allowing me to save money…and it’s all about saving money!  I’ve got the cupcakes coming from the baker, but my mom is making her world famous cheesecakes and we’ll need to display them in some way.  I looked around at antique stores, Goodwill stores, second-hand stores and they were crazy expensive for the amount that I needed, so this seemed to be the best route to take.

If you think that those pics look like they were taken in my office, then you’re right.  If you think I didn’t show everyone in my office this great project…you’re wrong!  How cool is this?  All from the Dollar Store and I got everything I needed for $16.

You can go here if you want more instructions.

 

5 Responses to “gather ’round folks…”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    I’m impressed! Good job!

  2. Jeana Says:

    Love these, you did a great job!

    • dknytx Says:

      Yeah, I was so worried after I went cake stand shopping because they’re all $20 – $40 dollars a piece…and I need eight! Luckily I found this idea.

  3. […] did do a couple of things that turned out pretty well…and saved a ton of loot.  I made eight cake stands for less than $20 using stuff from the dollar store.  Have you priced out cake stands […]


Leave a Reply

