The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

and guest February 10, 2010

Filed under: Black weddings — Happy Nappy Bride @ 1:58 pm
Tags: ,

(I found this by Googling “happy Black couple…not bad, huh?)

The first of many pieces of advice I got about the wedding was that I must (must!) invite everyone as a pair…that it would be tacky not to let everyone bring a guest.  Now I’m all about etiquette (my mom had me writing thank you notes for gifts before I could spell my own name correctly) and think that’s it’s fabulous to have a set of behaviors that is generally agreed upon as “good”.

That being said, I was trying to figure out how on Earth I could invite everyone with a guest to a reception that will max out at 150 people.  Know what I decided?  Eff it.  I can’t give everyone a guest, sorry.  I’m sure some folks will say (behind my back of course) that I’m being uber rude, but I can’t sweat it.  I’ll take some snide comments rather than not inviting someone (who’s not in a relationship, but will scramble to find someone…anyone!…to fill that “and guest” role so that they’re not there without a date) who is very important to me, but not dating anyone seriously.

I suppose you can guess that since I like etiquette, that I love Martha Stewart.  Girrrl, she’ll make a twenty course meal and look at the camera and say that it was easy…and be serious!  Anyhoo, I was on the Martha wedding site and they say that I’m right!  Woo hoo!!  Go on over here and check it out, but here’s a snippet:

I sort of like the “you can only bring a date if you’re married (duh!) engaged, or living together” rule. Any less specific, and you’ve opened the floodgates: “But he told me he loved me! or “I slept over and he remembered my name!”

What are you and your sweetie doing about this?

 

11 Responses to “and guest”

  1. Just Me Says:

    This is a tough one!! I am almost getting to the point where I will be sending out invites and have to make this decision. I want my guests to have fun but bottom line everyone cannot bring a date. I am not donald trump here. One thing to consider is if a person you are inviting solo will know a single soul at the wedding. If they won’t it might be ok to make an exception [as long as there aren’t too many] and let them bring a date but if they know people you will group them at the reception accordingly and they should be fine.

  2. Frugalista Says:

    This is a tough one!! I am almost getting to the point where I will be sending out invites and have to make this decision. I want my guests to have fun but bottom line everyone cannot bring a date. I am not donald trump here. One thing to consider is if a person you are inviting solo will know a single soul at the wedding. If they won’t it might be ok to make an exception [as long as there aren’t too many] and let them bring a date but if they know people you will group them at the reception accordingly and they should be fine.

  3. Cord Says:

    LOL!!!! @ the pic that came up when you “googled”. I love it! Anyway, FH an I are going with Martha on this, unless you’re married, engaged or have been dating for years, you don’t get a plus one. The only other exception I would make would be if the invited would know absolutely NO ONE else at the wedding but I’m pretty sure that’s rare.

    I think I can handle some behind my back talking for the sake of saving money!

  4. Tiffany In Houston Says:

    Woooo this is gonna be a hard one for me too. The majority of my close friends are single and out of a crew of 5 girls that hung out constantly I am the first one to get married. One of the girls is going to be a bridesmaid so that helps but the other girls aren’t dating anyone.. and having been a single way longer than I’ve been engaged at this point..I so sympathize with how they feel!!


Leave a Reply

