The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

dirty little secret February 10, 2010

Filed under: Conspiracy theories — Happy Nappy Bride @ 10:26 am
Tags: , ,

Shhh, don’t tell anyone…but even the “anti-wedding industry” websites are overwhelmingly (and joy-crushingly) White.  I remember being so excited to find that there were other bride-to-be’s out there who understood that the wedding isn’t about stuff, but about people.  It’s not even just about the one day (which in my opinion is hugely important), but about a beginning…the wedding shouldn’t be the end all be all, right?

My internal struggle has been that even on those cool sites, with ladies that get it…they’re still pretty homogenous.  Cool?  Yes!  Rational and reasonable?  Of course!  Not taking crap from the wedding “man”?  For real!  But still…pretty White.  So while idealistically I can relate, there is still that expanse…the gap.

It almost seems that all brides, cool or not, are White.  It’s still fun to read what real ladies have to say about their weddings, what real people (not all posed up, thank you) look like at their weddings.  But until today, I hadn’t read a woman of color give her thoughts on one of the mainstream blogs, the idea that there’s a total and complete imbalance in the representation of “the bride” on her wedding day.  Go check out this article on A Practical Wedding to read about an interracial couple who got married in a beautiful ceremony and a bride who’s not afraid to tell it like it is!

It’s a great read (I truly love this site) and reminds us that, like my post about women of color in wedding mags, the inability to “see ourselves” in the blogs and magazines is tough.  It gets to be hard to remind myself that I’ll be a pretty bride even if there aren’t folks that look like me out there.  That my hair’s gonna be cute on my wedding day, even if it’s hard to find ideas out there.  That I can find a superfly photographer who knows how to take pics of Black folks.  Sites like Chocolate Brides are great for finding community…but I guess I’m confused about why, in 2010, we still have to have a separate site for Black ladies to see positive images of themselves as brides and wives and mothers.

*sigh*

*Stepping off of soapbox*

 

10 Responses to “dirty little secret”

  1. buhdoop Says:

    Amen. I loved the Practical Wedding post. It is so great to see something I can relate to!

  2. Ghenet Says:

    I also loved that Practical Wedding post, and Mrs. Swan on WB! I agree, it’s refreshing to see people like yourself represented in the wedding world.

  3. I’ve only found one other Hispanic blogger bride, so I get it. It sucks. It’s why I love America Ferrera, and Selena Gomez and Shakira and any other famous person that reminds me that mainstream culture doesn’t always have to look one way. We all want to occassionally see people who look/sound like us, especially if you are a minority, because it is such a rare opportunity and it reminds you that you aren’t so different. Anyhow, good luck in your searches. I hope you find what you need/want.

  4. ZayBrina Everett Says:

    I was wondering the same thing I was searching for music for my wedding and I googled some music I found very funny how I came across actual sites that said african american wedding music and wedding wire were some what the same I didn’t understand why every thing was seperated.

  5. Jameil Says:

    Dude. I’m soooo with you. My bf & I love MSW but I had to write her an email about her ridiculous lack of black brides. I mean… WHAT THE HECK!?! We get married, too!!! So irritating.


Leave a Reply

