The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

tale of the tape February 15, 2010

Filed under: Conspiracy theories — Happy Nappy Bride @ 10:29 am
Tags:

I’m back again with an “investigative report” on the number of women of color in wedding magazines.  Read this post so that you can understand how I came up with the criteria…you’ll also be able to read that I understand that skin color isn’t always subject to the eyeball test.

The magazine is the Spring 2010 “the knot”:

It’s the lookbook, so the ads overtake the magazine.  Here’s the numbers:

Total pages in the magazine: 504

  • # pages with White bride: 250
  • # pages with bride of color: 15
  • # pages with White bridesmaids: 55
  • # pages with bridesmaids of color: 5
  • # pages with White bridal party: 7
  • # pages with bridal party of color: 0
  • # pages with White bride & groom: 25
  • # pages with bride & groom of color: 5

Total pages “White”: 337

Total pages “of color”: 25

Allow me a moment of testiness to say that this bride is so smilingly happy because she lives in the bridal magazine suburbs…a gated community if you will.  I’m so happy to live in my white house, wearing my white dress, living in my white neighborhood here in “the knot”.

I suppose I’ll keep on doing my investigations, because the omission of women of color is clearly not an accident.  I mean, you can’t tell me there aren’t Hispanic, Black, Asian, etc. models looking for work.  And my bank account tells me that women of color are spending money.  So again I ask…what’s really going on?

 

12 Responses to “tale of the tape”

  1. WHY? And the thing is, darker skin looks freakin’ AWESOME in white, makes the dress POP. You’d think they’d have more based on that reason alone.

  2. Cord Says:

    Looking through my Feb. 2010 Brides magazine, I started doing like you and checking pages, it’s really a problem but “they” won’t change anything, because they can count on “us” to keep buying their magazines and products and not saying anything. I commend you for even going to this extent.

  3. La Tosha Says:

    It’s not all the mags fault. The real blame lies with the designers/companies who often dont want women of color to model their dresses. Designers fear that white women won’t envision themselves in the dress if it isn’t modeled by a white woman. The mags are just running the ads that the gown companies give them. We need to start pressuring these designers and companies to hire women of color to model their dresses. But I also think that these bridal mags have enough pull that if they really exerted some pressure they could help force some change.

  4. Miss Journey Says:

    Wow, I’ve never noticed this before, but it doesn’t surprise me at all. In your search, have you found any minority owned/focused wedding magazine?

  5. You’re inspiring me to go ahead with a blog idea that I’ve been sitting on for months…I think I’m going to go ahead and put it to use.

  6. […] I do my unscientific studies on the numbers of women of color in wedding magazines like I did with The Knot and Brides where the lack of women of color is staggering…I wonder what’s going on.  […]

  7. […] you want to see some hard numbers on women of color in The Knot and Brides magazines, just click on those links and you’ll see that “Black woman as […]


Leave a Reply

