The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

nailed down February 16, 2010

Filed under: Details — Happy Nappy Bride @ 2:58 pm
Tags: , ,

These, my friends and neighbors, are my jacked up nails.  *sigh*

Dreadful, I know.  I don’t take care of them at all…I pluck at my cuticles, pick off any weird hang-y skin, and don’t even bother to file the nails themselves.  The most I do is to use clippers when they get unruly.  Even though in the summertime, I’ll get pedicures every two weeks, I don’t get manicures.  At work, I’m always using my hands and at home, I’m always in water or something non-conducive to pretty nails.

And this picture is the left hand which gets the expert work of my right hand, the other hand looks much worse…I’m not ambidextrous.

On the very rare condition that I have gotten a manicure, I just get the nails buffed so that there’s no nail polish to flake off immediately after it’s been put on.  I figure there’ll be pics of my hands during the wedding and reception, right?  And the state of my nails just won’t do, right?  How long do you think it’ll take to whip my hands into shape?

 

15 Responses to “nailed down”

  1. Frugalista Says:

    Usually just one or two manicures can make a world of difference so it shouldn’t take too long!! I too hate getting colored nail polish that just chips off right away! I usually ask for just one layer of clear. I also normally skip mani’s in favor of just getting pedi’s in the summer. If I have a special occasion coming up I will usually throw in the nails too.

  2. Thelma Says:

    I am blessed with long strong beautiful nails.I keep mine natural.I live by the European Calcium Nail Builder that I get from Sally’s.You should try it!

  3. Patti Says:

    They’re not quite as bad as you think hun 🙂

    I agree with Frugalista tho, one or 2 manicures will be fine. Day of just pick a polish that is forgiving to chips.

  4. Tiffany In Houston Says:

    I have tips but you have a nice nail bed shape and short nails are in style right now. 2 manis should hook you up. Sally Hansen Hard As Nails is old school but it works..you can find it in any drug store.

    Have your nail tech shape them really nice and if you aren’t a person who likes color, try a nice sheer nude. That way if you do chip, its not noticable.

    In addition, make sure you take care of your hands..Use a lotion with lots of emollients in it and sleep with socks on your hands for a couple of nights..world of difference.

  5. Cord Says:

    Tiffany- What do the socks do? Make your hands softer or do they do something for you nails? Curious minds want to know 🙂

    • Tiffany In Houston Says:

      @Cord..LOL!! The socks hold the moisture of the lotion to your skin and helps it to penetrate the skin deeper.

  6. Stephanie Says:

    Have you heard of gel nails? That’s what I used for my wedding and those suckers didn’t chip, flake, nothing until well after the honeymoon when they started growing out.

  7. Stephanie Says:

    I guess they’re considered “fake” but it doesn’t add any extra length to your nail (at least I didn’t). It’s just a thick coating over you natural nail that keeps it from chipping.

    I’m sure if you kept getting them done it’s not the best for your nails. But I just had them for the wedding and the honeymoon and then took them off and that’s the last my nails have seen of the salon

    • dknytx Says:

      That’s an idea! I’d only need them for the day itself, then I could get rid of them. I’ll do some google stalking to see what they look like.


Leave a Reply

