The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

giving honor February 17, 2010

Filed under: Black weddings — Happy Nappy Bride @ 3:53 pm
Tags: , ,

I’ve mentioned before that my dad died a couple of years ago.  And much like weddings, when you plan a funeral, you learn all sorts of stuff.  At that time, I didn’t realize that all veterans receive a flag on their coffin when they get buried.  I also didn’t realize that you can request current Army folk to play Taps at the funeral…or that those same folks will fold up the flag and give it to the oldest sibling.

Now I’m not the oldest sibling, but my brother and I’d just bought my dad a retirement gift (he died one day short of retiring) which was really nice, so when we were going through everything, I decided to keep the flag and he kept the retirement gift.

Saying I was a daddy’s girl would be the understatement to end all understatements!  Me and pops were close…he got me, I got him, we vibed.  Anyhoo, I wanted to find a way to honor him in the ceremony beyond just a mention in the program or something like that.  I’ve decided to have my neice and nephew walk my dad’s flag down the aisle just ahead of me (and my brother who’s standing in for my dad)…I’m pretty fired up about this.  I think people will enjoy it…and his side of the fam will probably boo hoo, but that’s okay.  Sometimes a little boo hooing is called for.

Are you doing anything to honor those that have passed on?  I came up with this because I just couldn’t imagine my dad not walking me down the aisle.  Now with a little imagination and help from my fam…my dad can be a physical presence.

 

11 Responses to “giving honor”

  1. Thelma Says:

    wow!i think that is a lovely unique idea.I’m a vet myself.

  2. Frugalista Says:

    First of all I hate to hear about people dying but 2nd of all a day before retirement is heartbreaking. So sorry you had to loose this special man in your life. I am lucky enough to say that I have yet to experience loosing a relative that I was close to. That is an absolutely beautiful and wonderful idea of a way to honor your dad at your wedding.

  3. Jeana Says:

    So sorry for your loss. My step-father whom I was very close to and had been in my life since the age of 5 passed away seven years ago and I will have a memory table at my wedding to honor him and a few other family members.

  4. Karen Says:

    What an amazing idea!

  5. I am so sorry about your dad.

  6. […] I loved them, and I wrote about them here and here.  Honoring my father during the ceremony…Giving Honor talked about that.  My ceremony reading was a Nikki Giovanni poem called Resignation, which talks […]


Leave a Reply

