The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

phase II February 17, 2010

Filed under: Details — Happy Nappy Bride @ 4:16 pm
Tags: , , ,

I’m her.  Who, you ask?  Crazy bride-to-be who’s worried about losing weight for the wedding, that’s who!

I don’t know when it happened…somewhere between buying my dress this summer and trying it on the other day and having it not fit properly.  Dangit!  I’ve been trying to console myself with the fact that designers make dresses two sizes too small, but that doesn’t change the fact that in July that mug fit and now it doesn’t.  *sigh*

I’m not a big person, never been a big person…just not in my genes.  So I’ve never really had to diet.  I’ve always said that the word “diet” should always be a noun and never a verb.  But now I think I’ll add a caveat…unless you’re getting married and everyone you know and love will be staring at you and you want to look your best for them and for the pictures.

Anyhoo, started working out six and a half weeks ago…lifting, light cardio and whatnot.  I can honestly say that it took me two weeks to not be sore and to stop shooting daggers at The Mister when he tried to touch me, lol.  Now that I’ve got phase one (operation: get buff) almost complete (only five and a half more weeks to go), it’s time to go to the next level.  Phase two…operation: get tight.  I’ve got to lose a few and of course I’ll continue to take cardio classes and whatnot after the lifting’s finished, but the most important thing I’ve got to do is control my eating.

Little Debbie, Lays, Ben & Jerry’s…you ain’t said nothing but a word.  So like I did with my lifting where I keep meticulous records of my workouts, I’ll do the same for food stuff…here are my tools:

A food journal:

Inside:

And food counter:

You may be saying to yourself, Dawn, you may be tending a bit to the anal side…to which I would say, I know, lol!  Do you ever drive your own self crazy?  Well I do daily and this is one of the reasons: anal, thy name is Dawn.  But I’ll be able to chart my progress, make sure I’m eating healthily (and not just think I’m eating healthy), and see what an appropriate amount of calories is for me.

Mission Slimpossible is about to begin!

 

2 Responses to “phase II”

  1. Frugalista Says:

    Good luck! It sounds like you are well on your way to fitting back into your dress in time for the big day and looking GREAT!! I am anal too so I totally get the whole food journal thing.


Leave a Reply

