The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

invitation stamps February 22, 2010

Filed under: Details — Happy Nappy Bride @ 2:08 pm
Tags: , ,

We’re getting close to having our invitations ready to send out.  By “close”, I mean we have the invitations and have done nothing with them and somehow think that they’ll address themselves.  Anyway, I’m gonna get my stuff together (famous last words!) and get to writing out addresses.

Last night I ordered our invitation and reply card stamps on Zazzle.  I’m a fan of this company and used them to put The Mister and I’s beautiful mugs on our save the date stamps.  Wanna see those?  Click here.  Those were a hit with tons of folks, so when I told The Mister we won’t do that for the invitations, he was disappointed.  It was fun to see him smile all big when people complimented us on the stamp and I would think, he’s into this whole “wedding” business.  I think we’ll do them for our thank you card stamps (with a pic from our wedding), but those things are expensive!  They’re like garlic…a little goes a long way.

I had to take screen shots of my laptop to show these because the site wouldn’t let me copy the picture.  Here’s the reply card stamp:

And this is what we’ll use for the invitation outer envelope.  These folks are actually an African American couple, not just literally the color black.  For whatever reason, the color didn’t translate too well, maybe if you click on it you can tell…  Anyhoo, here you go:

Our invitation envelope is a metallic chocolate color and the reply card is a metallic copper…paper is gold linen cardstock.  I’ll put up pics and cost info on those later.

Give me the goods on your invitations!  Colors? Are you addressing them yourself or hiring out? Formal or casual? Letterpress?  Sidenote: my mom is stressing over the casual nature of our invitations.  I kind of feel badly for her because she’s trying so hard to be nice and be supportive, but she just doesn’t like our invites.  The best she could come up with was, “those sure are interesting” and “people sure will be talking about those”, lol!

 

6 Responses to “invitation stamps”

  1. Cord Says:

    lol…gotta love those mothers! I actually went to Zazzle after reading your STD post and we are getting our stamps from there as well(thanks!!!). In regards to invitations, still no clue what I will be doing but I know I definitely will not be spening a lot of money on them.

    • dknytx Says:

      Yeah, the wedding industry tries to make them seem so important…but guess what? I just got a text from someone asking me when my wedding is! I held back the desire to say, “it’s when your save the date says it is!”…but still. People don’t care nearly as much as we do.

  2. Frugalista Says:

    I found some lovely pink and black ones that fit our colors and didn’t break the budget. I’m going to get together with mom and have an addressing party. Oh yeah, I really need to get on ordering them!!

  3. Dawn,

    Would you mind sharing a pic of your invites??

    Also I added you to my blogroll..I dont know how to trade links or anything like that.

    • dknytx Says:

      Thanks girl!

      I will share once I send them out, but there are some folks who are invited to the shindig who read this and I want them to be surprised. But after I send them out (late March), I’ll post pics and costs.


Leave a Reply

