The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

things that keep me up at night… February 24, 2010

Filed under: Staying sane — Happy Nappy Bride @ 11:17 am
Tags: , , ,

…aka: my wedding to-do list.  And the problem with this thing is that it’s constantly morphing into something bigger and badder.  Everytime I think I’ve tamed this unwieldy beast…it outwits me and continues to grow. *sigh*  Here’s where we stand now:

Info for the officiant (which happens to be The Mister’s dad)

  • I’ve got to pick up our marriage licence info, but it’s only good for 30 days, so I can’t get it that far in advance.
  • We’ve got to talk to his dad about the ceremony.  He tends to be a bit, um, verbose…so we’ve got to let him know that we want to keep it movin’.
  • With that, I need to come up with a ceremony outline.
  • His dad lives in Illinois but we’re getting married in Wisconsin, so he’s got to get a letter from a local pastor vouching for him (that’s weird, right?)

Stuff that needs to happen sooner rather than later

  • Our reception site’s letting us bring in our own bartender and alcohol, but I need to pick up an insurance rider to do it
  • I haven’t gotten The Mister a wedding band…and haven’t decided on engraving yet either.
  • Address & mail the invitations.
  • I need to come up with a full day timeline for everyone (wedding party & vendors).
  • Build chuppah for ceremony.

Stuff that I’ll probably leave ’til the last minute

  • Ordering food for rehearsal dinner picnic.
  • Buy vases to sit the bouquets in at the reception.
  • Shop for clothes for honeymoon.
  • Create the wedding program.
  • Buy a strapless bra for wedding dress.
  • Figure out what we’re doing for transportation that day.

Stuff that I think about but can wait

  • Name change info.
  • Thank you cards.

That’s it for now…how’s your list looking?  Are you stressing or feeling good?  Do you have all the major stuff (ceremony/reception sites, flowers, food, photagrapher) taken care of?

 

4 Responses to “things that keep me up at night…”

  1. Cord Says:

    Totally stressing. I have some time but my guest list flew from 150 to 210, I feel like all my money’s going to this reception hall, trying to book vendors of quality which equals $$$ wish I would have been wiser in choosing my bridal party and about a ton of other things I’m stressed about…but I WON’T COMPLAIN, lol….

    • dknytx Says:

      What?! How’d your guest list grow like that?! I’d sit down and cry if that happened to me. 🙂 But that’s only ’cause my place wouldn’t hold that many folks, so I’d have to get another and ick at that.

  2. You seem to be on the ball to me! 🙂 Just don’t forget to recruit other folks to help out. It’ll all be fine.

    • dknytx Says:

      Funny that you say that because I just added another item to the list and that was: get a crew for chuppah setup and takedown and someone to collect cards at reception.


Leave a Reply

