The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

my new fave! February 27, 2010

Filed under: Marriage — Happy Nappy Bride @ 10:02 pm
Tags: ,

With all due respect to the new Michael Jackson film, this magazine is it!  I’ve been wondering why wedding magazines don’t focus on what life will be like after the wedding…I mean that’s the whole point right?  I know that I’ve become inexplicably obsessed with napkins, ribbons, and per person costs…but I also understand that the wedding is only one day.  There’s real life after May 28th.

I went to Borders to see if there was a wedding magazine that I didn’t already own (*embarrassed*) and this was the only one.  Just take a moment and think about all of the bridal magazines at the bookstore and try to wrap your brain around the fact that I own all of them.  I have a problem.  But my addiction has yet again yielded results in the form of Shape Bride:

Since it’s Shape magazine, there are lots of articles about working out and whatnot.  Of course about dieting:

But what I loved was the real talk!  About how to handle finances:

About what it’s like in the bedroom after “I do”:

And wonders never cease…a Black bride!  Who knew women of color were getting married?!

Overall I’d give this magazine two thumbs up…it’s got a good beat and you can dance to it!  I’m so excited that there’s a brides magazine that’s speaking about more than color palettes and heel height.

 

4 Responses to “my new fave!”

  1. Tracey Says:

    Hi Ms. Happy Nappy!

    I’m a faithful follower, and I’ve tagged you on my latest post!

  2. Cord Says:

    I love it! You know I’m goiing to get it right? lol…


Leave a Reply

