The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

follow me… March 1, 2010

Filed under: Conspiracy theories — Happy Nappy Bride @ 11:17 am
Tags: , ,

…down the rabbit hole for a moment.

  • The CDC says that 56% of Black women have been married…and 77% of Hispanic women.
  • The US population of Blacks & Hispanics sits at 28%.
  • 28% of 304, 059, 724 (the US population estimate by the census) is 85,136,722.
  • Since that number is men & women and I’ll assume that only one side of a couple is paying for the wedding, let’s halve that to 42, 568, 361.
  • 56% (# of Black women) of 42, 568, 361 is 23, 838, 282.
  • 77% is 32, 777, 637.

Are you still with me?  I’m going somewhere here…I promise!

  • So 56, 615, 919 people of color are paying for weddings.
  • If those people all had $10k weddings…that’d be $566, 159, 190, 000 spent on weddings by people of color! That’s billions playa.

Obviously, some weddings will be way over that $10,000…and some will be under, so that number is just a guess.  But imagine the economic impact of those dollars.  So when I do my unscientific studies on the numbers of women of color in wedding magazines like I did with The Knot and Brides where the lack of women of color is staggering…I wonder what’s going on.  We’re spending money on vendors and sites just like everyone else…but I don’t get to see brides who look like me in the mags.

I don’t have any answers, but I’ll keep on preaching my “put more women of color in bridal magazines” gospel.

 

6 Responses to “follow me…”

  1. Ghenet Says:

    It is bizarre, and frustrating…but preach on! Have you considered writing letters to The Knot and the wedding mags to ask for more diversity? I bet the more demand there is for it, the more likely they’ll be to give it to us…

    • dknytx Says:

      I have actually, because even though I’m sure they know…I’m holding out hope that they (wedding mag folks) don’t know about the disparity.

  2. Cord Says:

    Wow! Seeing the numbers, though just a guestimate, makes it so real. I agree, letters must be written and phone numbers dialed. If you get any addresses/numbers, I’ll do it too!

  3. capriballa25 Says:

    Hi, I am getting married in DC in July, and a lot of things have fallen into place for us, in terms of using well known vendors in the area (well known reception site, well known caterer, well known wedding planner, about to pick a well known photog) so one of my small but hopeful dreams for my wedding is that my FI and I get a pic in the Washington Bride Magazine (HELL I WANT US TO BE ON THAT COVER!!!!!), and/or a feature in the Knot….I AM HOPING!!!!!!! it will be awesome to be a featured bride, because you are right, we AA brides spend a LOT of money planning our weddings, and this industry acts like we are non-existent!

    • dknytx Says:

      I think you gotta get your photographer to push it…tell them they’d be a trendsetter! Obama’s in the White House…why not Black folks on the cover of wedding mags?!


Leave a Reply

