The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

invitation deets March 4, 2010

Filed under: Details — Happy Nappy Bride @ 10:41 am
Tags: , ,

Okay folks, here are the details on our invitations.  I just started addressing them today, so I figured I’d take a few pics.  I assume that after the wedding, I’ll give all of the financial info, but here’s the general process we went through:

  • Got a local graphic designer to design STD’s, invite, reply card, and thank you’s.
  • Ordered paper and envelopes online at Paper and More, which I’d highly recommend! They were amazing.  You can order samples and they’re only $1 a sheet/envelope.  We probably ordered 15 sheets of paper before we settled on the gold linen cardstock that we chose.  And probably five or six envelopes before we settled on a copper metallic and brown metallic.  And they come very quickly, if you’re doing your invites yourself, I’d recommend this company.  We’ll use the extra paper not used for the invitations & thank you’s for programs and reception signage.
  • Ordered card insert from Vista Print to indicate number of invitees.
  • Ordered address labels for the reply cards…can’t remember where we got those.
  • Took the design to Kinko’s and they ran everything off in about a day.

I know that we saved tons of money doing it this way and they were custom, which I wanted.  Now without further ado, here are our invitations.  Actually, I want to show you the inspiration from my idea book that I put together.  This was important for a couple of reasons: our invites are different and having this clipping legitimized the design…plus, the cost is on there ($4k/100) and I can be like, at least I didn’t spend that kind of money!

Here’s how ours turned out.  I took the pic on my kitchen table so it’s probably not the best background, but you get the idea:

The bottom three (reply card & envelope, plus the invite card) all go together.  Maybe if you click on the pick, you’ll see that there’s lots of hearts on there…very cute.  Plus it’s a Memorial weekend wedding, so the colors reflect that as well.  Here’s a close up…hopefully you can see the metallic paper and envelopes.  The Mister and I really liked the metallic effect…adds some punch to the invite and makes them look a little less casual.

Since the envelopes and paper have a metallic gold tint to them, I used a metallic gold marker to write the addresses.  This was no small feat, by the way.  I went to Staples and bought a lot of markers that did not work.  When folks are putting together their final budget numbers, stuff like this should be included, because when you DIY things there’s lots of trial and error…and that usually means money.  Here’s the winner, ended up ordering it online at an art supply site:

Ugh…there are those jacked up nails of mine again!  Anyway, here’s another shot of the stamps as well.  The gold heart is going on the copper metallic (reply) envelope and the dancers are going on the brown metallic envelope.

So now you can see why my mom said that the invitations were “interesting” and that “people sure will be talking about these”…they’re different.  But we both really like them…they’re classy casual just like the two of us.

Have you gotten your invitations made up yet?  How early are you sending yours?  I’d like to get ours out within the next couple of weeks and that should put us around the two months to go point.  Is your hubby-to-be helping with the addressing?  I didn’t even ask The Mister.  I can look at something he’s written for a solid minute or two and still have no clue that those marks are even letters, let alone words, lol!

 

11 Responses to “invitation deets”

  1. Karen Says:

    LOVE the invites! And yes, good advice on the extra expenses that aren’t in the budget. I had to add in the cost of extra paper for trial and error paper when we did our save the dates! And, I gave you a bit of “blog love” on my website. Feel free to stop by!

  2. Cord Says:

    I love them! I think invitations set the tone of a wedding and yours say, “come looking for a good time”. I haven’t started the invitation journey yet but I’m sure it’ll be fun. PS: Thanks for the reference of Zazzle, we’re getting out STD stamps from there!

    • dknytx Says:

      Oh good! I love that company. They’re fast, good quality…what else can you ask for? I’m thinking of putting a pic from the ceremony on a stamp for our thank you’s.

  3. Courtnee Says:

    Those are fantastic! I agree it seems like it’s going to be a great party! We’re supposed to get ours today(they were supposed to go out lat week) and I’ve been stalking UPS all day!

    ps~thanks for the sweet words on my blog:)

    • dknytx Says:

      Are you addressing them yourselves or sending them out? I did about 30 today before my brain got fried. I figure I’ll just do a few at a time.

  4. Like it – like it a lot! They look fab!

  5. Lindsey Says:

    I love these! They are perfect!

  6. […] Have you priced out cake stands lately…they’re crazy expensive!  We did our own invitations (STD’s, invites, reply cards, inserts, envelopes, ceremony programs…everything) and […]


Leave a Reply

