The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

whoa March 4, 2010

Filed under: Marriage — Happy Nappy Bride @ 10:40 pm
Tags:

I went to the gyno today for the dreaded appointment (she even was like, “oh you’re here for your yucky appointment”, lol) and she asked me about kiddos.  Do I have any? Do I want to have any?  No. Yes.  Then she’s like, well you’d better get a roll on sister!  Not in those exact words, but that was the gist.  If she wasn’t the nicest lady in the world, I would’ve told her to get offa my back.

This was posted up over at The Thirty Something Bride…and since I’m a thirty something bride myself, this got me good:

A woman’s risk of having a baby with certain birth defects involving chromosomes (the structures in cells that contain genes) increases with age. Down syndrome is the most common chromosomal birth defect. Affected children have varying degrees of mental retardation and physical birth defects. A woman’s risk of having a baby with Down syndrome is:

  • At age 25, 1 in 1,250
  • At age 30, 1 in 1,000
  • At age 35, 1 in 400
  • At age 40, 1 in 100
  • At 45, 1 in 30
  • At 49, a 1 in 10

Like I said in the title of this blog post…whoa.

 

9 Responses to “whoa”

  1. What kind of doctor says yucky?

    Anyhow, bad things could happen at anytime. You could get hit by a car tomorrow. These fears about birth defects are not a good enough reason for me to have children right now. I think having a mom that isn’t into you may be worse than a birth defect.

    • dknytx Says:

      I’m trying to figure out how you got to a place where there’s a mom that’s not into her kids. That’s a big leap momma…I was just saying that those numbers are crazy.

      Yes, there are things that could be worse, but this wasn’t a “what would you rather” post (would you rather your kid have Downs or get hit by a car?)…this was just to say, “whoa”.

  2. 5kidswdisabilities Says:

    Down Syndrome children are beautiful and every bit as fulfilling as having a non-disabled child. If the baby is yours, you will love him/her!!!!

    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

    • dknytx Says:

      Thanks for commenting! I feel that if God chooses to bless me with kids, then they’re just that…a blessing. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Tiffany In Houston Says:

    WHOA indeed. I’m 36. I guess I’ll be getting busy!

  4. buhdoop Says:

    Whoa is right.

  5. WAIT! Did I know you were 30-something too? That makes me happy.


Leave a Reply

