The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

more flower talk March 5, 2010

Filed under: Details — Happy Nappy Bride @ 6:53 am
Tags: ,

I was bumping around on the internets trying not to stress out about doing these dang flowers by myself and ohmygodohmygodohmygod I found it!  I love the look of hand tied bouquets, but I’d watched youtube videos and they seemed kinda hard quite honestly.  Then I got to thinking about trying to do flowers the day before the wedding, already stressed, frustrated by trying to hold on to a handful of flowers…I could see very clearly in my mind’s eye that it wouldn’t end well.

Check this out…a bouquet holder:

This thing certainly falls within the category of “stuff I didn’t know existed before I started planning a wedding”.  But that’s not the cool part…though it will cut down on the unwieldiness of holding on to a mess of flowers in my hand.  As cool as this is, it’s not the coolest part…check this out:

It looks hand tied, but it’s not my friend…oh no.  Those are the leftover stems that they’ve attached to the bouquet holder!  I. Am. So. Excited!  *deep breath*  This will make things so much easier!  Plus (yes, there’s more…it’s like an infomercial) the holder has a wick in it so that the flowers can still draw on water:

It’s all over, I’m so fired up about this…it makes the whole process so much easier!  Here’s a pic of the final result:

Oh. Emm. Gee.  All I’d need is a ribbon or stem wrap to cover up the tape and I’ll be good to go.  I found all of this over at Wedding Flowers and Reception Ideas…I’m pretty sure I can buy all of the stuff I need over there too.  Now I just need an easy way to make boutonnieres and I’ll be good to go.

I will stop hyperventilating now.

 

Leave a Reply

