The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

groom’s gift March 8, 2010

Filed under: Details — Happy Nappy Bride @ 3:08 pm
Tags: ,

Are you and your hubby-to-be exchanging gifts for the wedding?  The Mister and I are…except I’m stuck on what to get for him.  Classically, I think the gift is supposed to be a timepiece…I think this one is sporty and classy all rolled up into one:

It’s nice, but pricey and I’d rather not break the bank.  He’s always using sunglasses in the summertime and it’d be a cool gift because he could wear them on our honeymoon:

These are the least expensive of the three things that I’m looking at…but they’re also guaranteed to get destroyed because he goes through sunglasses like chewing gum.  That leaves the iPhone…he’s been whining about wanting an iPhone since I’ve known him.  And no, I don’t know why he hasn’t just bought one himself:

I could get an iPhone for $100, which isn’t bad and I know he’d be super fired up.  So what do you think?  If you had to choose between these three items for your future hubby, which would you choose?

 

12 Responses to “groom’s gift”

  1. Frugalista Says:

    I’d pick the watch. It’s classic and never goes out of style. He will always need it and can always have it. My hubby and I are not exchanging gifts. It actually never crossed my mind. I don’t really feel it’s necessary. The wedding and honey moon is gift enough for us.

    • dknytx Says:

      No, it’s certainly not necessary…but a lot of things we’re doing aren’t “necessary”, lol! The cool thing is we’ll still be right on budget even with the gifts.

  2. Stephanie Says:

    We didn’t exchange gifts. But I really like that watch!

  3. courtnee Says:

    I don’t think we’re going to exchange gifts(mainly because I think we’re tired of spending money). I love the watch but if I could get my honey an iphone for $100 I probably would because he’s been dying for one since they came out.

    • dknytx Says:

      After investigating the plan costs, the iPhone is definitely out. He’d (by then “we’d”) be spending about $1300/year on data and voice plans…yikes!

  4. I like it!

    My gift is paying for my share of the wedding. Ill put a bow on it if he wants, but no more damn money is gonna be spent.

    • dknytx Says:

      I’m sure he’d appreciate it more if you put a bow on yourself. Try it on your honeymoon and let me know how it works out! 😉

  5. Tiffany In Houston Says:

    I like the watch. Get it engraved too.

    • dknytx Says:

      Well, I like the watch too…but I just asked The Mister if he wore watches (no), if he ever wore watches (no), or if he’d ever wear one (probably not). Soooo, the watch is out.

  6. Cord Says:

    Well even though the iPhone is out, I still give it my vote… I have one and FH wants one so bad so I’m going to get us a family plan and get him one, probably for his birthday which is two days after our wedding. I think it’s something he’ll love and at the end of the day I’d rather give a gift that HE LOVES than one that is classic and nice but that he’ll never use or brag about 🙂


Leave a Reply

