The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

nikki March 10, 2010

Filed under: Black weddings — Happy Nappy Bride @ 8:00 pm
Tags: ,

The Nikki referenced in the title of this post isn’t the “darling” one of Prince fame, but Nikki Giovanni.  Back in the day, I was an English major and someone got this book for me when I graduated and I absolutely fell in love with one of her poems.  When The Mister asked me to marry him, I read this for him and he really liked it too and we thought that we’d use it at the ceremony.  But this sucker is long and I’m wondering if it’s okay to truncate it a bit.  We’d like to keep the ceremony short for many reasons.  We just want to get married (!), we want to be able to get a few pictures taken after the ceremony, we’ll want to go shake our collective tails and our reception site is about thirty minutes away.  So if we were to do anything but “straight to the officiant”, we’d add this as a reading.

I’ve cut it down to the parts that I really like (still don’t know if that’s kosher or not)…tell me what you think:

“Resignation”

I love you
because the Earth turns round the sun
because the North wind blows north
sometimes
I love you
because it is the natural order of things
I love you
because I don’t want it
any other way
I am helpless
in my love for you
It makes me so happy
to hear you call my name
I love you
because it’s been so good
for so long
that if I didn’t love you
I’d have to be born again
and that is not a theological statement
I am pitiful in my love for you
I love you
because you with all your magic powers were
determined that
I should love you
because there was nothing for you but that
I would love you
I love you
because you made me
want to love you
more than I love my privacy
my freedom my commitments
and responsibilities
I love you `cause I changed my life
to love you
because you saw me one friday
afternoon and decided that I would
love you I love you I love you I love you

That last part always gets me, no matter how many times I read it…I mean, didn’t we all have to change our lives to love our future hubbies?  We decided that loving him was more important than always having things done just the way we want, than traveling all over the world for the perfect job…hell, than being autonomous.  We all decided that we wanted a partnership rather than to fly solo.

Anyhoo, this is sappy and over the top and I just think it’s great.

 

13 Responses to “nikki”

  1. pdsweddings Says:

    Excellent choice hun! I think its totally fine to cut it down to the parts you like 🙂

  2. KaEEah Says:

    Shorter poem but packs a great big kiss is “Poem of Friendship”…

  3. buhdoop Says:

    Beautiful poem. I love the ending too! The seeing me on a Friday and deciding I would love you part. And the changing my life to love you part. All of it really. Great choice.

    PS. I completely forgot about hanging dollars on people in college for their birthday! Girl, I am getting old.

    • dknytx Says:

      Last year, my 10 year old nephew had a bday that happened during a family picnic and they sent him around the room for cash and he cleaned up! He got like $50…on top of all of the other gifts he got!

  4. Cord Says:

    WOW! Now that’s a poem! I really enjoyed it. Love this part:
    “I love you
    because it’s been so good
    for so long
    that if I didn’t love you
    I’d have to be born again”

    and the end about choosing to love FH more than I love my privacy, my commitments and responsibilities…POWERFUL! I’ve been thinking about that lately, not having my own space anymore and not being able to just be in MY house by MYself doing ME, lol…it’s not such an easy thing to come to grips with but this explained it all…I LOVE FH more than those things.

    Girl, I might have to steal this too…but I think the shorter version is just fine. I don’t think that’s an issue at all!

  5. KaEEah Says:

    Poem of Friendship is by Nikki too..

  6. mglphx Says:

    It’s perfect!

  7. […] Honor talked about that.  My ceremony reading was a Nikki Giovanni poem called Resignation, which talks about being an independent woman who falls (completely and totally) for her man and […]


Leave a Reply

