The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

way with words March 10, 2010

Filed under: Black weddings — Happy Nappy Bride @ 11:57 am
Tags: , ,

Lately I’ve been saying “I don’t care” a lot in terms of our wedding and I wonder if folks are getting the wrong idea.  Of course I care about The Mister and I care that friends and family will make the trip to see us get married.  And I care that his dad is our officiant and I care that at the end of the wedding ceremony, I’ll be a Mrs. (!!!).

Unfortunately, I sometimes feel like the things that people think I should care about…I just don’t.  Wedding shower invitations that match our wedding invitations?  I mean, that’s fine, but I don’t really care one way or the other.  Groomsmen wearing the same suit?  Don’t think it’s necessary…The Mister sent a color swatch to everyone and they’ll get close.  I don’t care if it’s not an exact match.  I gave my bridesmaids the color for their dresses and said to keep them knee or tea length.  Not only do I not care what style of dress they choose…I don’t even know, lol!  It’ll be a nice wedding day surprise.  Our flower girl is getting her dress made and I’m sure it’s going to be gorgeous.  But no…I really don’t care to pick out the fabric or the design.

I think the issue is twofold. One is that I trust people to do what they said they’d do.  I asked the bridesmaids to get something and I believe that they will…simple as that.  I haven’t set up hair/skin/nail appointments for them…I trust that they’re not gonna come to the wedding all broke down.  The other is that I’m really trying to keep this thing in perspective. While I believe in the power of weddings and the ceremony of it, I understand that the day is but a gateway into a new life with this wonderful man…it’s a beginning, not an ending.

So if I seem a bit subdued when you ask me a question, understand that I am so excited to be getting married.  That I’m fired up about our invitations and flowers and caterer (open bar playas!) and dj and baker and photographer…everything will be on point, I promise!  I’m super excited to see some of my family that I haven’t seen in ages and to meet a lot of The Mister’s fam.  And I secretly hope that whoever it is that acts a fool at the reception (and someone will act a fool…see previously mentioned open bar) doesn’t come from my side of the family, lol!

As long as I end up married to The Mister at the end of the day on May 28th, I’ll be a happy camper.  And if anything else goes wrong…I just don’t care.

 

8 Responses to “way with words”

  1. Frugalista Says:

    Great attitude!! I kinda feel the same way. Don’t sweat the small stuff right? Some people get all crazy about everything and for what? This should be fun and if you just go with the flow it will be.

  2. I was the same way, people would always ask me about the smallest details and I would always say “I don’t care”…I really didn’t. If I didn’t care about the smallest details, my guest would either. People don’t notice EVERYTHING at a wedding they just want to eat and party – if they find fault of anything thats their problem. As you said, marrying your hubby to be is what’s most important, thats the only thing you’ll be leaving that wedding with.

  3. Hear hear! I am trying to adopt that attitude.

  4. Cord Says:

    Very well said!


Leave a Reply

