The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

this is good! March 11, 2010

Filed under: Marriage — Happy Nappy Bride @ 8:21 pm
Tags: , ,

I was bopping over at Chocolate Brides today and they’ve got marriage counselors as contributors and I thought this was a great post!  It’s called 10 Tips to Have That Wedding Day Love Last a Lifetime.  Long title…very good post.  Number eight was my favorite:

8. Nourish and Cherish One Another. Take care of one another. Understand and appreciate your mate. Find out what their love language is according to the Five Love Languages of Dr. Gary Chapman and then learn to speak their love language. The five love languages are 1. Words of Affirmation 2. Acts of Service 3. Gifts 4. Quality Time 5. Physical Touch. These are the things that make your partner feel loved and appreciated. These are also the things that if they are not done can make your partner feel deprived. For example, my love language is quality time and my husband’s is physical touch. This means I feel loved appreciated and in complete connection with my husband when we spend time together with no interruptions from kids or distractions from phones or other gadgets. For my husband, this means that he feels loved, appreciated and completely connected when I physically touch him in any way. We have found that one of the core issues couples have is they don’t know how to take care of one another. They don’t know how to nourish and cherish their partner.

There’s a lot of good stuff over there ladies…I might bookmark this one!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s