The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

residual costs March 12, 2010

Filed under: Saving money — Happy Nappy Bride @ 12:27 pm
Tags: , ,

I went to the eye doc this morning because I decided I’d more than likely be wearing contacts on the big day, so I need to get my eyes checked and order new contacts.  The doc was like, I only need to tweak your prescription…apparently that means a stronger prescription.  *sigh*  I’m sure I’ll literally be blind one day.  The Mister always makes fun of how little I can see without my glasses (yes, he actually calls me four eyes) and I tell him that he shouldn’t tease the disabled.

After my appointment I got to thinking of all the stuff that I’ve been doing that aren’t actually wedding costs because I can use them before & after the actual day…but I probably wouldn’t have done without the wedding as incentive.  Like these contacts (a years worth for $200) and the makeup I got ($200 for makeup and brushes) and this Invisalign treatment I’m doing.  Though in all fairness, I started that almost a year before The Mister asked me to marry him…but that’s thousands of dollars for straight teeth.

Do y’all remember that movie I’m Gonna Get You Sucka…whatever, you know you watched it!  I feel like I’m that lady who was full of fake parts.  She took off her leg, her hair…she was all fake!  Then I was like…oh my goodness, that’s me!  If I took out my braces, I’d have jacked up teeth.  If I took off my glasses, I’d be blind as a bat.  And without all of that makeup…Lord, Lord, Lord, lol!!  That’s not a good mental image. *shuddering*

So clearly these costs are well worth it.  But even though these numbers won’t end up in my final budget numbers…that’s still money spent.  So how do I archive it?  I’d really like to have true costs at the end of this deal.  What do you think?

 

2 Responses to “residual costs”

  1. Frugalista Says:

    You could call it grooming expenses and just place it in a separate category so that you know how much it was but it can be easily added to the total of the actual wedding expenses for a grand grand total. I am blind as bat as well. My rx is actually way worse then yours if you can believe it. My fiance laughs at me too…he’s got 20/20 of course. I wish.

    • dknytx Says:

      Yeah, The Mister doesn’t need glasses…jerk. 🙂 Maybe I could take like 25% of the cost and put that toward the wedding costs…


Leave a Reply

