The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

receiving line? March 23, 2010

Filed under: Details — Happy Nappy Bride @ 2:39 pm
Tags: ,

I don’t think we’re doing one.   I was talking to the lady who’s gonna be my DOC and told her that I was really worried about not talking to everyone at the reception and she said:  why don’t you come back in after you’ve said “I do” and thank everyone then? Genius!

The way it’ll work is, we’ll exit the chapel and our officiant will tell everyone to take a seat because the Mr. and Mrs. will be coming back soon.  The Mister and I will smooch and hug and be excited that we’re married.  Then we’ll come back into the chapel (great photo op, I’m hoping!) all cheesy and happy.  We’ll walk back up to the front of the chapel and then row by row, folks will exit…and as they exit, we’ll shake their hand/give them a hug/thank them for coming such a long way, etc.

It’ll be quick, but at least everyone will get some face time with us.  Then at the reception, we can have in depth convos with folks as we can, but we won’t be stressed out that we didn’t talk to cousin so and so or auntie whatchamacallit.  As I’ve said before, I’m shakin’ my tail at that reception…if you want to talk, join me on the dance floor!  We plan on being there for the cocktail hour (not taking pics), but I’ve heard of so many folks say that they tried and failed to talk to everyone at their reception.

How are you and your dude trying to chat with your family and friends who made the trip to your wedding?

 

4 Responses to “receiving line?”

  1. Amy Says:

    The last wedding I went to the bride and groom came by everyone’s table at dinner. I plan on doing a “receiving line” Nigerian style 😉 cause it will be super fun and I can dance while we are doing it! I like the way you are doing it too. It’s unique!

    • dknytx Says:

      We’re not having assigned seating at our reception, but it’ll be hors d’oerve stations…even harder to see everyone at the reception! What’s Nigerian style?

  2. Mrs O Says:

    we went round to (most of ) our guests tables whilst they were waiting to go up for the buffet. It was nice because we actually got to have real face-time and chat with people. I’d say we covered half of our guests this way. Then, once the dance floor was opened, we had some face-time with other guests, who we hadn’t spoken with before. We also made a point of saying a special thank you to elderly guests who were seated, toe-tapping and enjoying the ‘scenery’…

    x

    what is nigerian style btw? Is this where you dance into the reception or something else? I’m curious?!!

    • dknytx Says:

      See, ours won’t be “trapped” by the buffet line wait…they’ll be milling about because there’ll be food stations. I want to focus on the old folks at the reception and if we get around to the young folks, great.


Leave a Reply

