The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

sixpence? April 1, 2010

Filed under: Black weddings — Happy Nappy Bride @ 12:27 pm
Tags: , ,

Something old, something new
Something borrowed, something blue
And a silver sixpence in her shoe

We’ve all heard this phrase (maybe minus the sixpence thing) and since I don’t have this stuff yet (except for the blue…I’ve got blue earrings), I was wondering if I really wanted to stick with this tradition.

  • Something old represents a connection with the past and family.
  • Something new is the optimism for the future.
  • The something borrowed should come from a happily married family member and reminds the bride that she’s got a support system.
  • Something blue stands for love, modesty, and fidelity.
  • And the sixpence represents wealth and financial security.

So after doing my research, I guess I’d like to do this deal.  Both The Mister and I think that this whole marriage thing is bigger than the both of us…like it’s as much about our families as it is us.  So I think these customs are cool because they reflect that.  Anybody know where I can find a sixpence?  Because wealth sounds pretty sweet…I want somma that!

 

4 Responses to “sixpence?”

  1. Frugalista Says:

    Hmmm…never heard of the sixpence as part of that. Guess that part probably gets left out a lot. I have no idea what a sixpence is.

  2. hitchdied Says:

    The sixpence from the rhyme refers to an British coin that is no longer circulated. When my sister got married last summer I ordered a sixpence from http://www.silversixpence.com. They charge about ten bucks. Also check Etsy or coin collector’s websites.


Leave a Reply

