The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

dads April 9, 2010

Filed under: Community — Happy Nappy Bride @ 7:07 am
Tags: , ,

So the new Tiger Woods commercial is getting a lot of criticism these days.  Some folks say that he’s using his dead father to help him out of this jam he’s gotten into and all sorts of other stuff.

I see it a bit differently.  As someone who’s lost her dad and was very close to him, I get it.  When my dad passed away, it was like I lost my lighthouse in the darkness, my go-to person, a true friend.  It was one of those situations where I loved my dad fiercely and everyone knew it.  So when he passed away suddenly, not only was I tremendously sad…I was lost.

That’s why I get it that Tiger let Nike use his dad’s voice on that commercial…because he believes that on some level, his dad would have kept him from messing everything up like he has. And quite honestly, I’d give anything just to hear my dad’s voice again…even if it were just a recording.

I’ve missed my dad a lot lately because I know he would have had my back with all of this wedding stuff.  He was the ultimate “eff ’em” kinda dude.  Before I even had any good marriage prospects and was worried about never getting married, he was like, so what if you don’t…eff ’em if they’re making you feel badly about that.  When I would break up with some dude, he’d be all, obviously he’s not good enough…eff ’em.  So I know exactly what he’d say if he were around now and I’d complain to him about some of the nonsense I’m hearing regarding our wedding plans.

I can’t believe I’m about to say this, but give Tiger a break.

 

10 Responses to “dads”

  1. Cord Says:

    I’m deeply sorry for your loss and I think this is what we need to hear more. “Give Tiger a break!” We have ALL made bad mistakes, maybe not cheating, but we’ve lied, we’ve stolen, whatever the mistake was, we’ve made at least one and imagine if no one ever gave us a break. Everyone has redemptive qualities in my opinion and for Tiger to allow them to use his father’s voice shows that he’s really trying to make this right and going to the deepest place he can find (his fahter) to show that he’ll stop at nothing…And even if it is a play on the public’s emotions, SO WHAT?!? Everyone just live your life and let him live his *vent over* 🙂

    • Frugalista Says:

      Not that it’s ok or anything but he’s not the first man to cheat and he certainly won’t be the last. The issue at hand is that he is a public figure so not only does he get bashed by those involved in the situation but a million other people who don’t even know him. He’s wrong. Plain and simple but it sucks to have your mistakes made so public. Also, the Nike add is just that. An add. He is Tiger. He gets commercials that address his behavior. He is still gonna live his life, keep sponsors he can and try to fix it up. If she forgives him or not its his mistake to live with forever.

      • dknytx Says:

        Yep, he gets a chance to make it right just like the rest of us…we just don’t have to live out our mistakes in front of millions.

    • dknytx Says:

      A couple of weeks ago our pastor talked about how Christians are so slow to forgive. He started bringing up names of “fallen” preachers and asking why we can’t move on…it’s a good point. We all mess up and we all deserve forgiveness.

  2. Margaret Says:

    Haven’t seen the commercial, so this isn’t about Tiger Woods… but have you ever watched the Grey’s Anatomy episode when George’s father passes away? (I’m not a big fan of that show anymore, but that episode is worth watching).

    I watched this scene (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ub21sp-zru0) shortly after my father died. 3 years later, It’s still the truest thing I’ve heard or seen that spoke to my experience with his death.
    Anyway, sorry this isn’t exactly on topic… it just tugged at me. (and as you said, all this seems to be heightened with an upcoming wedding).

  3. hitchdied Says:

    My dad was my person too. And I think that knowing your father would say, “eff ’em” can help you say that too, when necessary. Even without a camera for you to stare remorsefully at, you’ve got your dad’s voiceover.

  4. […] a month after I met The Mister so they never met.  Here’s a post I wrote before the wedding, Dads, and one I wrote afterwards…on Father’s Day, Daddy’s […]


Leave a Reply

