The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

it’s not a bad word April 13, 2010

Filed under: Staying sane — Happy Nappy Bride @ 9:16 am
Tags: ,

I was in a meeting yesterday at work and the guy who was leading it asked who wanted to make calls to folks with good and bad news.  He looked around at everyone and I volunteered right away.  Then he was like, “I can make the calls to the folks who’ve got the bad news if you like.”  I looked at him like he was crazy and said (literally): I have no problem with “no”.  So everyone got all, “watch out for Dawn” and “I wouldn’t want to see Dawn in a back alley”, yada, yada, yada.

What’s wrong with “no”?  It’s not a bad word?

And I’m finding that I’ve become emboldened with the power of “no” when it comes to wedding planning.  For myself: no, I can’t buy a purse that costs $200 that will only be used at the reception.  No!  For the fam: no, cousin so and so can’t come to the wedding right now…we don’t have room.   No!  But maybe as more “no” RSVP’s come in, we’ll be able to make room for them.  See?  A positive “no”!

So ladies, there’s nothing wrong with “no”…it’s just another word.  But a powerful word that can help you set boundaries for yourself and others as you plan your wedding.   Have you had to use any “no’s” lately?

 

2 Responses to “it’s not a bad word”

  1. Natasha Says:

    I recently had to tell my older sister no! Last week I received my wedding dress (which I ordered online) and it was all wrong. While I’m in a dispute with the dress maker, I decided to just buy another dress. My sister takes it upon herself to find a dress for me. For some strange reason she sent me a picture of a short cocktail dress, that according to her, “is what she had in mind for me.” Excuse me? I never, ever wanted a short cocktail dress. Why would she think that it was right for me? I had to tel her no, that dress is not what I want. I think she secretly was happy to that my original dress was not right so that she could pick the RIGHT dress for me.


Leave a Reply

