The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

wedding crazy-part deux April 22, 2010

Filed under: Staying sane — Happy Nappy Bride @ 8:55 am
Tags: , ,

Yesterday I wrote about fighting the financial wedding crazy that says that the “average” wedding costs $31,000.  But there’s the other side to the wedding crazy…us, lol!  Now we’re all trying to save money, be frugal, stay sane, keep things in perspective, yada, yada, yada.  But…you know you got a little kooky after your dude asked you to marry him.

Wedding crazy is a special kind of crazy.  It’s what happens to otherwise normal and well-adjusted ladies when we get engaged.  An abridged list of symptoms include insatiable desire to buy and read wedding magazines, an odd obsession with stationary and stamps, an ever-growing list of wedding blogs that are on your daily list, an annoying indecisiveness about nonsensical and unimportant things like tulle and napkins and ribbons, and an unnerving vanity about hair, makeup, shoes, and other whatnots.  The only cure as I can see it is the actual wedding, but starting a blog has helped me stave off the crazy.  I’ve got a guy friend who’s getting married this weekend and his fiancee has scared him with her wedding crazy…he looked visibly scared this week, lol!

I try to limit the wedding talk around The Mister because I don’t want him to freak out, but now that we’re about a month out I think it’s gonna be inevitable.   What are you doing to fight the wedding crazy?

 

9 Responses to “wedding crazy-part deux”

  1. buhdoop Says:

    I talk to my fiance about everything not related to the wedding. It brings me back to reality.

  2. Frugalista Says:

    The only time I found I wouldn’t shut up about the wedding is in the beginning when we were choosing our venue and photographer. Those were such major choices and the hardest for me. Other then that I haven’t obsessed too much-lucky for the fiance!! Let’s see how I do as things get closer.

    • dknytx Says:

      My obsession has been pretty stealthy…I’d bet he doesn’t really notice. I keep the magazines hidden away with all of the other wedding stuff.

  3. Tiffany In Houston Says:

    I blog. And blog some more. I try not to bombard the FI too much or his eyes glaze over..LOL!

  4. A-L Says:

    My fiance knows I read several blogs and obsess about wedding details, but I don’t actually discuss it much with him. Trying to spare him, at least for now!

  5. Natasha Says:

    I have a blog on our wedding website. Also, I’m a member of the African American Bride community on The Knot. The ladies on there are great. It’s a great outlet to discuss, vent, and share the craziness of wedding planning.


Leave a Reply

