The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

Conundrum May 5, 2010

Filed under: Marriage — Happy Nappy Bride @ 8:20 am
Tags: , ,

Disclaimer to The Mister’s fam and friends who may read this:  I do have manners and class.

But those who know me well know that this is a topic that I give way too much thought to…dropping the kids off at the pool (or going number two as others may say…some just say poo).   We all do it…it’s just that it’s possibly the least romantic or sexy thing that a person could ever do.  As we get prepared for marriage, I’ve asked various married ladies about how they handle this perfectly normal bodily function.  Some ladies share the bathroom with their hubbies while they’re handling their business…others would never dream of doing that and don’t even verbally acknowledge that their bodies create the stuff.

This topic came to mind when I had two of the most incredible drop offs known to man…I couldn’t believe that they came from my body!  And I really wanted to tell someone (I’ve been known to call my girlfriends from time to time), but The Mister was the only one around and I didn’t want to holler, you won’t believe what I just did!  I suppose it wouldn’t be too far from my incessant fiber talk (weird, I know), that’s what the fiber’s designed to achieve after all…it just didn’t seem right.

What do you and your future hubby plan to do about toots, poops, burps, and nose picks?  I’ve generally tried to hide those things from The Mister…should I just let it all hang out on May 29th, lol?!!

 

10 Responses to “Conundrum”

  1. Tiffany In Houston Says:

    Oh the shame is long past gone about those things!! We live together so as long as I don’t walk in on him we are cool.

    It’s to the point now that he will tell me if something isn’t “coming out quite right” and we try to diagnose the problem. He’s learning he can’t eat everything in sight like he could when he was a kid and I am learning that I really am lactose intolerant.

    I’ll leave it at that! LOL!!

    • dknytx Says:

      Okay, so I’m getting there because we (I) talk about my poops…their not coming fast enough, coming too fast. So that’s pretty good. 🙂

  2. Frugalista Says:

    Yeah, I remember the days when it was all polite and private. No more! If it happens it happens. We talk about all those delightful bodily functions and chat while one of us is on the pot. Whatever. At the beginning it’s nice to hide all that but by this time you know you are in love and no poo or toot is gonna change that. So don’t be rude about it but no need to hide it either.

  3. Sarah Says:

    We’re kind of funny about this stuff. T announces to all and sundry when he’s going to the throne for a deuce (as a warning to stay far, far away), but I usually pick the bathroom that is farthest from any people in the house (we live in a 2-story townhouse so have upstairs/downstairs commode options). I have a lot of allergies and get a lot of sinus infections, and the Netti Pot is easiest to use in the kitchen sink, so nose stuff is totally public.

    T is actually more frank about the potty stuff with one of his good friends (who happens to be a woman). Their relationship is very sibling-like, and I’m happy there’s enough mystery that we still believe in privacy at least for #2.

    On a similar note, I never let him see me wax or pluck anything. Shaving legs in the shower = good. Wzxing or plucking anywhere else = bad.

  4. Amy Says:

    haha this is the funniest post i’ve read all week!


Leave a Reply

