The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

Buff bride! May 11, 2010

Filed under: Pre-wedding — Happy Nappy Bride @ 9:27 am
Tags: , ,

So here we are, two and a half weeks out and I’m feeling pretty good about my wedding workout that I’ve put together for myself.  Not only have I lost seventeen pounds over the last three months, I’ve gotten pretty buff and I’m excited about our honeymoon.  I’m past getting into shape so that the dress zips up (that was at about ten pounds lost), now I’m trying to work it out so that The Mister is like, “whoa”!

The other day at the gym a lady asked me what I was training for and between huffs and puffs and very unladylike sweat, I said, “my honeymoon”, lol!  Between the stepmill (which is a machine of torture I’m sure), my interval circuits (pure hell!), and a step class at my gym (hard, but so much fun), I’ve managed to put in some good work.  And according to this month’s Psychology Today, if I feel better about myself, then the bedroom activities will benefit.  So like I said, I’m looking forward to the honeymoon!

I’d be totally disingenuous if I said I started working about for any sort of altruistic reasons, but I think there have been a few unintended consequences.  I’m ripped, confident, fit, diligent, focused, and energetic.  Have you experienced any positive side effects from the cliched bridal weight loss?  Have you set any fitness/weight loss goals for your wedding?  How’s it going?

 

8 Responses to “Buff bride!”

  1. Congrats Dawn, that’s a great achievement!

    I have been really lazy about it, so could have achieved a lot more in the time I have had but hey, no regrets!

    I still have seven weeks to make a difference and this post has seriously motivated me!

  2. Frugalista Says:

    Good job. I know working out is rough!! I personally can’t seem to bring myself to do it. I am still somewhat fit from about 2 yrs ago when I used to work out. At least that’s what I tell myself!! No stuck zippers yet so I guess I’m doing OK.

  3. Cord Says:

    That’s so wonderful! Congratulations!!! I have gotten more serious now that I’m 5 months out. I have lost 21lbs total and I’m really hoping to lose about 20 more. I’m working out almost daily now, joined a gym and taking dance classes…Honestly, I LOVE IT! Fh notices and I can tell by the way he looks at me that I’ll be spending a lot of time in my hotel room during our honeymoon, lol!

    I feel better, I sleep deeper and better, I just feel lighter. I’m trying to get back to where I feel my best and that’s a size 8.

  4. Karen Says:

    Way to go, Dawn!

    I’ve on my buff bride game (seriously) for about a month (6 months before wedding). No real weight loss (2 lbs) but I feel stronger, more focused and my insomnia has improved. And Old Dude is getting into it with me. We are eating better and having major Wii tennis tournaments instead of vegging on the couch!

    • dknytx Says:

      You don’t want to spend too much time or your willpower will fade…six months is a long time to watch what you’re eating and workout like a champ.


Leave a Reply

