The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

tale of the tape May 16, 2010

Filed under: Conspiracy theories — Happy Nappy Bride @ 8:28 pm
Tags: , ,

So, I bought another wedding magazine.  Even though our wedding is less than two weeks away.  And I certainly have no real need to be looking at magazines…except I just really like them.  Anyhoo, normally in my tale of the tapes, I count up how many White brides and brides of color are in the magazine and then report back to you guys.  Well, I didn’t have to count.  There were two brides of color and hundreds (literally) of White brides.

Interestingly enough, I’d read somewhere that Amsale is a woman of color, so I went to check it out:

I’d heard right.  But these are her ad images:

You can go and check out her website if you’d like.  No women of color.  But she’s a woman of color.  Hmmm.

I’m sure it has to be hard being a woman of color in an industry that doesn’t celebrate diversity.  I would think that she’s made a concerted effort to be like everyone else, to be colorless in the presentation of her product.  But I’d also think that she’d take an all inclusive approach to advertising.  Why not Hispanic, Asian, Black, and White models?  I’m not saying she’s gotta be all power to the people.  But who’s gonna be the one to step out on a limb?

 

8 Responses to “tale of the tape”

  1. Frugalista Says:

    That’s a shame. You’d think she could be a little bit more inclusive. If not her then who?

  2. hitchdied Says:

    Maybe the models of color all refused to look squinty and hungover in the shots, so they had no choice but to go back to the white girl model pool.

  3. Oh boy, it is frustrating ladies. I feel like screaming “WE ARE HERE, WE ARE HERE!”. Fashionable images of brides of color do exist, it means a little searching.
    I create custom designed wedding gowns usually use women of color and at the present I am working on a collective shoot call “The Natural Bride”. Our goal is to create images that promote beautiful bridal bliss for women who want to stay natural. (Please forgive the shameful plug) We did it last year http://cassandrabromfieldbridalblog.blogspot.com/2009/05/natural-bride-photo-shoot.html
    But sticking to the Amsale and her marketing, it is unfortunate but that is how her business sells the gowns that are well over $5000. I can also agree that one black woman in their ad campaign wouldn’t hurt sales, but this is how they keep their lights on. Also understand the company is not owned by her alone. Her husband is white and the company (this may have changed) was in partnership with Goldman Sachs. Advertising gets tricky and so you can wage the “Why not use at least one black model” war, and you will be fighting (through words) for a long time.
    I think if you can, and I believe you already do, show us beautiful wedding images of women of color. Now that is a battle you will be victorious in.

    • dknytx Says:

      Congrats on your business…hopefully people click over and check you out! I personally would love to see mainstream sites integrate though…that’s more of what I’m talking about.

  4. CaliSlim Says:

    I understand the issue you’re trying to highlight, but everytime you buy one of those magazines you’re contributing to the problem. These magazines will never focus on brides of color because they have your business anyway. It’s really just that simple.


Leave a Reply

