The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

frugal DIY bride? May 18, 2010

Filed under: Black weddings,Community — Happy Nappy Bride @ 6:02 pm
Tags: , ,

So it seems that if you’re an indie bride, a frugal bride, or just a want-to-be-your-own-person bride…then you’re super crafty.  You’ve gocco’d (whatever that is!) napkins, made your own reception food, spent your wedding morning baking wedding pies, created/designed/printed your own stationary…*sigh* I’m out of breath!

Well, I am an indie bride!  I most certainly am a frugal bride.  And I’m a want-to-be-my-own person person…not just bride!  But what I’m not?  Crafty.  It’s not that I don’t have the crafty artsy gene…it’s that I don’t have the corresponding desire, lol!  I felt like our wedding was a shot to support local  businesses who do all of that stuff a lot better and a lot more efficiently than I could have…except in this one case.

I (along with a super handy coworker) am building a chuppah for our ceremony.  What’s a chuppah?  A wedding canopy that has Jewish origins which represents the couple’s future home together, God’s protective covering, and a place where deceased ancestors are said to gather.  You can see pictures here.

Anyhoo, as soon as The Mister asked me to marry him, I realized that I wanted to have one of these and that it would be much cheaper if I made it myself…and we all know I love cheap, lol!  So here’s what we bought today at a supply store:

PVC that’ll be the base for the chuppah…4-8′ sections, 4-5′ sections:

Connectors for the PVC:

The spray paint for the PVC to make it look more like wood…PVC is so much cheaper than wood!:

You can see what that “stone” paint looks like on these planters.  They’re the super cheap plastic ones, but they look much snazzier with that paint on them!:

When we put everything together, I’ll put up a pic of the finished project.  What’s not pictured here is the three bags of cement that we’ll use for the base and my grandma’s afghan that’ll go on top.  I’m excited about this project because it’s something that I’ve wanted from get go…and because it connects my past (ancestors who’ve passed away) with my future as a Mrs.

Have you DIY’d?  How did it go?  Did you enlist help or did you try it all on your own?

 

6 Responses to “frugal DIY bride?”

  1. Amy Says:

    wow that stone paint does wonders!

    • Tiffany In Houston Says:

      Agreed. It looks really good.

      How did you decide that you wanted a chuppah? Just curious.

      • dknytx Says:

        Back when I was first obsessing about weddings, I’d seen them in tons of wedding mags and looked up what they were. I dig the ancestral part and that it represents our first home together and it stays open on the sides to show that your home will always be open to friends and family.

    • dknytx Says:

      I know right!

  2. Karen Says:

    Wow. I too am lacking the craftsy artsy gene. I’m not taking on anything nearly as ambitious as a chuppah…as close as I’m getting is creating my own lounge by purchasing cocktail tables and pillows from IKEA and putting them together. LOVE the idea BTW!


Leave a Reply

