The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

I get by with a little help from my friends May 20, 2010

Filed under: Community — Happy Nappy Bride @ 8:25 pm
Tags: , ,

My friends have been pretty amazing with all of this wedding stuff.

  • When I posted up pics of the yard sign I wanted for our reception, one of my bridesmaids offered up she and her boyfriend’s services to create one for us.
  • When I said we were gonna do our own flowers, my maid of honor started meeting with a florist so that our flowers look superfly.
  • Another couple of work friends lent me a mess of buckets that we’ll put the flowers in once they’re delivered.  It went like this:  Hey can I use those buckets for my wedding? Which buckets?  The ones that are super full of stuff that would be very annoying to have to move. Sure!
  • I asked a coworker if she’d help me build a chuppah.  After looking it up to see what the heck I was talking about, we (by which I mean, she) spent an hour this morning mixing cement for the base.
  • I’d sent out an preliminary itinerary a few months ago and my sis-in-law was the one who had the nerve to tell me that said schedule was insane.
  • I gave my other bridesmaid the email addresses of my sorority sisters so that she can set up the singing of our Sweetheart Song…she didn’t bat an eye.  Just prayed that they know how to sing.  I don’t think they do.
  • I totally forgot to ask another coworker about a stand mixer that my mom’s gonna need to make her awesome cheesecakes, so I just texted earlier today.  No problem.
  • Not to mention the two ladies that I work with who offered themselves up to be our day of coordinators before I even knew what that meant or knew to ask.

What I’m finding out is that when people say they want to help…they really do.  It’s pretty overwhelming, I’m not going to lie.  These same folks are spending money on outfits, plane tickets, hotel rooms, car reservations, gifts, etc.  Yet they’re still on the “what can I do?” train.

If this is what weddings do to people, I want more of it!

 

8 Responses to “I get by with a little help from my friends”

  1. courtnee Says:

    we all know that weddings bring out the crazy but weddings also reveal how incredibly wonderful and generous your friends, family and sometimes total strangers can be:)

    i know everything is going to beautiful. can’t wait to see the pictures.

  2. Smiley Face Says:

    Amen and amen again for good genuine help! That’s one thing I’ve learned about planning our wedding.

  3. Cord Says:

    Thank God for supportive people. I’m with Courtnee on this, the ugly comes out of some but the beauty in others definitely override that. It’s a blessing to be surrounded by people who take our dream of a fabulous wedding and make it theirs too!

  4. I have really been blessed by the people who are willing to help me and do stuff for me. I have really been touched.


Leave a Reply

