The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

together June 10, 2010

Filed under: Post wedding — Happy Nappy Bride @ 8:30 pm
Tags: , ,

So this is one of my favorite non-professional pics that I’ve seen thus far.  It’s from after the wedding when The Mister and I stayed at the host hotel.  We’d both gone to the wedding chapel and everything separately so we didn’t exactly have enough bags/hangers for all of our crap…and believe me, you’ll have a lot of crap once it’s all said and done!  Anyhoo, he actually knew where his hanger was so when we were packing up after the goodbye breakfast, I just put my dress on his suit hanger.

And there they were.  My wedding dress.  His wedding suit.  Together.  These two clothing items had started their days very differently and in different locations…like The Mister and I.  They ended their day together, occupying the same space…just like The Mister and I.  When I bought the dress and when he bought his suit, they each had their own places to live (hangers and separate closets)…and now, just like The Mister and I, they’re living together in close quarters.

I’d imagine that much like he and I, those clothing items are learning to live in a “we” world, in a together universe, to share everything in a way that they’ve never had to.  Not just surface sharing, but a deep connected  togetherness that is awesome and intimidating all at the same time.  If the dress is like me, it’s trying to stop being so bossy.  If that suit is like The Mister, it’s probably wondering why picking clothes up off of the floor is so important, lol!

Ladies, I look at my ring and I think (and sometimes say), “I’m married…how ’bout that?!”  We just got back from our honeymoon late last night and will leave town in five days for another trip.  But the difference between these trips and the others that we’ve taken as a couple is that I’m his wife and he’s my husband. I’m telling you the truth y’all…it’s not perfect, but it’s perfectly awesome.

 

11 Responses to “together”

  1. Ghenet Says:

    I love this! What a sweet post. Enjoy your new married life 🙂

  2. Karen Says:

    You are getting me so hyped, girl. I’m so happy for you guys. And, marriage looks good on you!

  3. Frugalista Says:

    that’s so great. Cute pic and very symbolic. Enjoy your next trip!!

  4. Cord Says:

    I love your posts, they encourage me!

  5. hitchdied Says:

    That’s my favorite wedding dress on a hanger photo ever. Nice work.

  6. […] first was our rings sitting together and the other is my wedding dress and his wedding suit hanging together on the same hanger…very powerful images.   Leave a […]


Leave a Reply

