The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

recaps: the ladies June 22, 2010

Filed under: Wedding recaps — Happy Nappy Bride @ 5:05 pm
Tags: , , ,

Keep in mind, awesome readers, that when you read recaps (mine or otherwise), you’re only getting what we want to give you.  If I wanted to tell you everything, I would have told you about the one thing The Mister was in charge of (an essential piece involved in obtaining the marriage certificate) that came scarily and unnecessarily close to not getting done in time for the wedding.  But I didn’t tell you about that because I want him to like me after I press “publish”, lol!  But I’ve been looking forward to writing this post since the Thursday before our wedding and I was surrounded by the most fabulous ladies ever.

Anyhoo, I don’t know if y’all remember Tina Fey’s skit (read it here if you’d like) from a few year’s ago, “B*tch is the New Black”, but it was an ode to ladies (mistakenly called b*tches by dudes that are afraid of strong women) who know how to work it out.  She talks about a lot of funny stuff, but the line that gets me is: “b*tches get stuff done!”  I love it!  Probably because I fit the bill…and because the ladies I had around me before the wedding got. stuff. done.

From the lady from my job that coordinated the rehearsal dinner, wedding, and reception flawlessly to my mom to my bridesmaids…I was awestruck at the power of women.   Not just that we did a lot, but just the ladies themselves.  I consider myself to be lucky to know these ladies who are running things in their careers.  Smart, beautiful, wise…do-ers, not talkers.  I have to tell you that I felt like a weight had been pulled off of my shoulders when I saw them, because I knew that I could trust these ladies to help me enact my vision for the wedding.

I can’t wait to tell y’all about all of the cool stuff that we did, but for now, just know that the people you choose to surround yourself with before your wedding are vital to your sanity.  Remember we’d talked about the stress of the day, the fact that the day is “big” even if you’re trying to downplay it, that you’ll be nervous?  So the last thing you need is for the folks close to you to raise your stress level.

Have you thought about your wedding day “helpers”?  Are they friends or family or both?  Hopefully you’ll be as lucky as I was!

 

4 Responses to “recaps: the ladies”

  1. KaEEah Says:

    Girl, I’m just so thankful you didn’t fire me after the “powder foundation” incident. WOOWEE…you are the epitome of grace under fire chica.

  2. My sister did a lot to help me with the wedding planning. And I had a couple bridesmaids come over to help me assemble some favors one night. But other than that, I did just about everything myself! I had a few people offer to do some things, but I am too much of a take control perfectionist freak and was afraid to let go of a lot. 🙂

    Glad you had those kind of girls around you…that’s usually the girl I am when my friends need it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

