The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

recaps: the flowers June 23, 2010

Filed under: Wedding recaps — Happy Nappy Bride @ 10:02 pm
Tags: , ,

Doing the flowers was the biggest project of wedding week, which of course couldn’t be completed well in advance…which is also why it was such a big project.  I love flowers and knew early on that I’d want lots of flowers, but also knew that I didn’t want to spend the more than two thousand dollars it would cost for all bouquets, boutonnieres, corsages, ceremony and reception flowers.  Cue wholesale and I got everything done for about seven hundred…a pretty hefty savings.

Except for time…not really a savings on that one.  But the thirteen hundred I saved was well worth it…you’ll laugh at that statement when I tell you this next thing.  I didn’t do anything with the flowers.  Seriously.  Okay, when the FedEx dude delivered them, I took them out of the box they came in, cut, rinsed, fed, and placed them in buckets.  That was the last thing I really had to do with the flowers until they (superfabulous bridesmaids!) handed me a bouquet on Friday before the wedding.  Sure they asked me questions about what I liked (everything!), what looked good (everything!), and did I have a preference (nope, use your best judgment!).  I think they eventually got the idea that whatever they did would be fine with me.

I’d figured out that all of my running of errands had to be finished by Thursday so that “we” (by which I mean “they”) could do the flowers.  The flowers were delivered on that Wednesday and flower designing was to take place the next day.  Quick rundown of the day: flowers at reception site, mani pedis, rehearsal dinner, more flowers…’twas to be a long night.  Anyhoo, here’s some pics chicas:

Here’s how my gorgeous flowers arrived…less than impressive, no?

Those buckets I was telling you about…in my basement, you don’t need a refrigerator, fyi.


At the mansion where the reception was held…super small pic for some reason.  That’s me bending down tying ribbon to the containers…that headless lady at the top of the table is my mom.

Here are the bouquets…amazing right?

Beautiful flowers for the beautiful ladies…you can’t even tell that they’d been up ’til all hours doing those very flowers.

We don’t have pics of the boutonnieres or corsages…maybe I do somewhere, but I can’t find them right now and there are a lot of photos around here and you’ve probably got enough.  Here’s the last one…our pew balls.  I absolutely loved these.  They were the only flowers in the chapel and were totally wonderful.

Okey dokey pokeys…those were our flowers.  Those were the ladies that did the flowers.  They (the flowers and the ladies) made my day.

 

7 Responses to “recaps: the flowers”

  1. Karen Says:

    women ARE awesome! and your flowers look great!

  2. Ghenet Says:

    I’m very impressed! They did a great job and you can beat those savings.

  3. I need to have an offline with you about flowers…..I am truly at a loss.

  4. […] and they were pretty awesome, in my opinion.  Finally, my bridesmaids did all of the flowers for the ceremony and reception…and they were gorgeous!  I estimate that we saved about $2500 […]


Leave a Reply

