The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

the naps July 16, 2010

Filed under: Details — Happy Nappy Bride @ 10:47 am
Tags: , ,

When The Mister asked me to marry him last July, I was transitioning out of dreadlocks.  I’d had them for about ten years and was ready to be able to do my hair in different styles.  When I cut out the dreads, I only had a snaps worth of hair, so I put it in braids until I could figure out what to do with it.  Then I realized how easy braids were and kept getting them instead of doing my hair myself.

I must confess that I’ve never been one to “do” my hair, which is how I ended up with the locs in the first place.  I knew I wanted to come out of the relaxers (which I did about eleven years ago now), but I also knew I didn’t want to wrangle with my hair.  Anyhoo, when he asked, I was spending about $200/session to get my hair braided.  I was getting them redone every three months or so and I added up the cost thru the wedding and realized it’d be about $800 to keep getting my hair done.  With our small budget, I couldn’t justify spending that kind of loot.  So I went cold turkey on the braids and started doing my hair.

Now I’ve got two faves that are my go-to styles.  I always go curly because when the thickness creeps in, the ‘do still looks cute.  When I flat iron (which I do roughly once a month), I set my hair on rods and sit underneath the dryer to let it set.  My wedding hair was done like this:

When I don’t flat iron (which is most of the time), I just wash and set in bantu knots and sit under the dryer to set it and let them out…I re-knot at night and sleep in them overnight.  Here’s some pics I took this morning:

Anyhoo, for those of you who are looking to do your natural hair for your wedding, it can be done without chemicals or weaves.  Mine lasted through our wedding and reception…where I danced myself sweaty and didn’t worry about my hair.  I suppose the only way I wouldn’t even try my hair is to keep it straight, so if you’re wanting head-shakin’ hair, this isn’t the look for you.  My hair is past my boobs when straightened, so you can see it’s significantly shorter this way.

Any other nappies out there with hair ideas?  I’m always looking to try new things!

 

19 Responses to “the naps”

  1. Ghenet Says:

    Your hair looks really pretty natural!

  2. Frugalista Says:

    Your hair looks really cute natural. I swear I could never get my hair to do that if it were natural. It’s great that you have found a style that is cute and managed to maintain it. I am a relaxer chick-I think I always will be. I did go with the weave for my wedding for fullness-for the first time ever. I wanted to look different and way more glamorous then I do every day. I tell you what-weaves are awful! I can’t wait to get this thing out of my head and I don’t know how women live like this! LOL.

  3. Karen Says:

    Hey u, I am a nappy natural too! Transitioned in ’91. Had twists braids coils cornrows afro puffs etc. Cut it all off in 2000 and started growing it again 6 months ago so it’s too short to flat iron and there is so much more gray now…writing a post about my wedding hair options as we speak!

  4. Nice hair and nice specs!

  5. Mona Says:

    Your natural hair looks awesome. I was natural for about 7 years. Went from braids to locs. Then cut them off 2 years ago. I must say, because I didnt know how to maintain natural hair that was not loc’d, I mdae the decision to “relax” my hair. bad decision. I hate the fact that i conformed to the norm. I have very thick and coarse hair, which is a blessing and a curse I suppose. It takes alot of extreme heat to straighten my hair, which is not a good thing. Also, when I sweat, my hair would “go back”. I plan to hopefully go back natural after my wedding. Help me please with my eventual, retransformation.

    • I’m right there with you…I had no idea how to do my natural hair! YouTube was my best friend. I tried so many different styles from the videos on there. I learned how to wash & detangle my hair so that it wasn’t awful combing thru it…don’t sleep on the Tube. 🙂

  6. NATALIE Says:

    This site is such a blessing. Thank you for sharing your creativity. My locks had been locked for about 15 years until 2006 when I experienced a major loss and took them out, one by one (no cutting) . I am currently back in my fro and keep patting it down until I decide if I want to select other options. Natural is important to me, had not considered flat iron. And, as someone who, until recently, had “coal black” hair, I find experiencing my 60s with “less black” rather interesting.

    Currently comfortably single; however, knowing God as I do, would not be surprised if, just as he opened this window of opportunity to help me explore my options, He had another “special relationship” in store for me. It’s nice to know, should the occasion present itself, I will have THIS resource available to help me, too, be a “happy nappy bride!” I appreciate having “good news” to forward! Again, thanks for sharing!

    • I’m glad you like it! I ended up cutting mine after a loss too…a couple of months after my dad passed away I just decided I didn’t want them anymore. I’ve enjoyed getting to know my hair again!

  7. Wanda Says:

    I used to have Sister Locks, but had to cut them off due to some hair loss caused by a bad marriage that will be ending soon. However, I have stumbled upon a product that I love for my “Nappy” style. It is called Mixed Chicks. It is a hair lotion that will enhance your natural curl pattern. It is not greasy, does not leave a residue, and really makes natural styles look great. If you have a good curl pattern, then this stuff will be jammin on your hair, and the less curl pattern you have, the less results you get, but it still gives your hair a nice feel, holding the results in place. I have a very low curl pattern, but I still love what it does to my hair. I feel beautiful about my nappy hair, finally. I hope you can try it. In my opinion, it is the Bomb! Have a blessed day. Peace.

  8. Wanda Says:

    Mixed Chicks Info: Mixed Chicks Leave-In Conditioner. It moisturizes, controls frizz, and defines curls. Check out their website at http://www.mixedchicks.net. Enjoy! Peace.

  9. buhdoop Says:

    Gorgeous, love it 🙂


Leave a Reply

