The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

good peeps July 21, 2010

Filed under: Building a life,Wedding recaps — Happy Nappy Bride @ 7:37 pm
Tags: , , ,

I know I showed you all the sign one of my bridesmaids made for our reception, but I didn’t tell you the rest of the story.  I think it’s important because it really characterizes how everyone was super helpful and awesome on the day of the wedding…and how that spirit of helpfulness really helped The Mister and I have a stress-free wedding day.

So when she showed me the finished sign while telling me the story of how the airline almost didn’t let her bring it on the plane because they thought it could be used as a weapon, I was already thinking, “this would look amazing in my flower bed out back.”  As a matter of fact, I’m pretty sure I actually voiced that thought.

She left early the day after the wedding and I was bummed because I thought the sign had been left at the reception site.  After our breakfast with the folks from out of town, we got home and low and behold…there it was.  In the flower bed.  Pointed at our house just like I’d imagined out loud a couple of days before.

The same could be said for The Mister’s dudes…they were amazing.  We were still chatting with folks after the ceremony when we saw them breaking down the chuppah and tossing it like we’d planned.  And after the reception, while I was sweating and boogying on the dance floor, I saw the dudes were taking the gifts and extra booze back to our house out of the corner of my eye.

To me, that’s the wonderful part of weddings, the wonderful spirit of people who want to help.  I’m so happy to think that we started our married life with help from those folks who love us and care about us.  I mentioned to The Mister the other day that I wonder about the connection between how couples plan weddings and how they plan marriages and lives together.  Neither one of us is arrogant enough to think that we can do this thing on an island…away from people who care for us.

So our wedding was a microcosm of the life we want to lead.  A life where friends and family are there for us when we need them…not only because we asked, but because that’s what they wanted.  With no coordinator, the wedding wouldn’t have gone as smoothly without us leaning heavily on friends and fam…and I have a feeling that we will be able to count on them for a long time.

 

2 Responses to “good peeps”

  1. Frugalista Says:

    that’s so great!! The sign is obviously so unique and a great momento of your wedding day,


Leave a Reply

