The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

for real? August 3, 2010

Filed under: Date Nights — Happy Nappy Bride @ 10:52 am
Tags: , ,

Have y’all seen the commercials for that ABC show “What Would You Do?” where the waitress is flirting with the woman’s boyfriend/husband?  Well, I don’t know how it all plays out…I think it comes on this week sometime, but the gist is that you’re chillin’ with your honey and the waitress starts pushing up on your man.  And I’ve watched these shows before when they’re about different topics, so I’m sure the waitress will keep ramping it up to see what kind of reaction she could get.  In the one commercial, the waitress actually gives the man her phone number and asks him to call her…right in front of the girlfriend/wife!

The Mister asked me what I would do if something like that happened and I just shook my head and said, “I don’t know…but it wouldn’t be good.”  So that got me to brainstorming about what I’d say or do if a woman flirted so tough with my husband (right in front of me!) that she felt that she could give him her number.  I have a tough time with that one because I don’t think I give off the vibe that that sort of behavior would be acceptable, but let’s just say that I do.  What would I do?

  • Snatch the paper out of The Mister’s hand and tell her that I’ll give her a call later…with a hard stare.
  • Laugh and tell him that he’s still got it…and then take that number away, lol!
  • Find the manager of the restaurant and tell him about that trick waitress.
  • Ask her if she realizes that The Mister is a married man and if she’d want her hubby treated that way.
  • Request another waitress.
  • Complain to the manager, get a free meal, and pat self on back for saving money.

So…what would you do?

 

26 Responses to “for real?”

  1. Karen Says:

    ALL OF THE ABOVE! LOL

  2. beka Says:

    Laugh and tell the mister he’s still got it.
    Then take the number.
    Show it to the manager and get a free meal.
    Take the number home and call her at 2:00 in the morning.
    Make my husband so happy he won’t be interested in her!

  3. Jameil Says:

    She would lose her job because I would make a HUGE deal of the fact that I’m leaving the restaurant because of her behavior, won’t be returning and will tell all my friends!! Yeah… that’s extreme. I don’t like people playing around my food. Lol.

  4. Like you I don’t think I give off that vibe. First and foremost, I expect my husband to nip it in the bud right from the start. If it escalates, then I would politely tell her off, and complain to the manager. I’m sure I wouldn’t dine at the restaurant anymore.

  5. Frugalista Says:

    I don’t know what I’d do. I think I would feel it couldn’t be for real that someone would have the nerve. I’m not confrontational AT ALL but that just might bring it out in me!!

  6. I would laugh and then get her fired. I can CLOWN.

  7. Tazzee Says:

    I’m sure I wouldn’t have to say anything because my hubby would definitely nip it in the bud. However, if he didn’t (he was in on the prank) I would tell him to flirt back so she would give us the hookup (I’ve done that before, LOL).

    But if he were to try and nip it in the bud and she persisted, I would calmly set her straight and then leave. I probably wouldn’t get her fired, tricks need work too.

  8. I would do nothing, but only because I’d be getting back at Collin who has let me get hit on in front of his face in the name of “taking the high road.” Inside, I would want to shout, “MINE” and smack the poor girl with good taste.

  9. Dude, it’s NEVER about what YOU do, but what HE does. A gentleman and a MAN, wouldn’t let it go that far. He’s stop it – or should.

  10. K. Rock Says:

    Umm. I couldn’t even imagine. I am not a confrontational type of person so I would really have to be put in that situation. I think I would just be shocked at how brazen she is to do this in my face. I would hope my husband shut it down before I step in. Wait..I would see if she could give us our meal for free. If she can, then flirt away!!!

  11. Mrs O Says:

    Gosh, what a scenario!

    I would hope that I wouldn’t have to do anything! I would hope that Mr O would say ‘that’s really sweet of you, but the only number I’ll be needing is my wife’s!’ – at which point I would expect him to give the number back to her.

    ; )p

  12. Sarah Says:

    This happens to us in reverse a lot (or at least my fiance says it does). He is convinced that I get checked out and hit on regularly because of my chest. Recently, I stopped at a booth at Comic Con and the guy working the booth leaned over the counter and pushed pin buttons toward me while we were talking (we all have lanyards; the pins go on the lanyard). Tony gently pushed them back toward the guy and put his arm around my waist. He never said anything to the guy, but I don’t think he had to.


Leave a Reply

