The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

I’ve got an idea… August 31, 2010

Filed under: Building a life,Community — Happy Nappy Bride @ 10:30 am
Tags: , ,

I was listening to NPR the other day and they were talking about those Chilean miners that are trapped underground and probably won’t be rescued for three to four months.  Aside from the sheer awfulness of being trapped without light, stuck underground with strangers, and not having any privacy (I can’t bring myself to think about the bathroom situation), they talked about how their families are handling the situation.  Of course they were elated when they found the men alive and were able to establish contact with them, but then they got to worrying about the mental state of those poor men.

Let’s take a break in the action so that I can take this moment to speak directly to The Mister:  please stop reading.  Seriously, I think it’s super sweet that you subscribe to get these posts in your email, but you’ve got to stop reading.  Right. Now.  Really.

For real.  Close it and send it to the trash.

Okay, now that I’ve taken care of that bit of business, back to the Chileans.  The NPR lady then interviewed their families and so many of them were feverishly writing letters to their husbands, boyfriends, and brothers in order to keep their morale up.  Then I thought…what if I did the same thing?  What if I started writing The Mister letters everyday to tell him about my day, and how much I loved him, and how I just couldn’t imagine my life without him?  I mean, if he were trapped in a mine…or just gone for a long time, I’d probably do it.  Why should I wait until something awful happens in order to try it out?  The miners’ families talked about how close the writing made them feel to the men because it took time and you really put more effort and heart into it than you would an email or text.

I’m going to try to do it everyday…we’ll see how good I get at it and I’ll keep you guys updated.  What do you think?  Is this a crazy idea or what?

 

24 Responses to “I’ve got an idea…”

  1. K. Rock Says:

    I love it. But for me, the letters would have to be a weekly thing. We converse, get updated and throw in some lovey dovey talk on the daily. So I know he knows I am nuts for him. But getting a letter evry week or even every few weeks would help me further seal the deal. Lol!

  2. Ghenet Says:

    It’s a very romantic and sweet idea!

  3. Frugalista Says:

    It’s a sweet idea. Anything you do to show the one you love that you love them is great. Daily does seem like a lot though. I betcha those miners would e mail instead of write if they had internet access!

  4. Jameil Says:

    I think it’s super crazy. Lol. But if it works for you, rock out!

  5. Cynthia Says:

    Thank yuou for your wonderfully simple yet powerful idea. I started it with a special friend and stopped because I let other things get in the way. He is the best friend anyone could ever have, totally supportive and a truly gentle spirit. He is well worth the effort of daily affirmations.

  6. Lauren Says:

    I’ve never commented before, but read your blog everytime it comes up on my reader. I actually wrote a letter to my fiance that he keeps in his wallet. He is supposed to open it when he is having a not-so-good day. It has words of encouragement, expresses my unconditional love for him, and reminds him that I am in it and not going anywhere. All I have to do is remind him to read it on those days (even if I am the one who is to blame for his not-so-good day).

    I think what you are doing is a great idea – why wait until a crisis. I applaud you for attempting to do it everyday, though. I don’t know if I could keep it up….

  7. Tazzee Says:

    Great idea. I’m trying to figure out a way to do something like this.

  8. beka Says:

    I do this- when S or I leave for a work trip, we always write each other a little note and leave it behind (if we’re the one leaving) or pack it in the other’s suitcase (if we’re the one staying). It’s so nice to see a little note and know that the other person was thinking of you… in addition to the obvious “goodbye” and smooches on your way out the door.

  9. I really like Lauren’s idea of a letter to keep in the wallet..think I’m going to have to steal that one!

    I say go for it!

  10. Cynthia Says:

    What I have decided to do is write a week’s worth of note cards at one time, address and stamp them and then mail one each day. I generally just write one or two lines that I know will make him smile and let him know that I am thinking of him. It makes me feel really good to do this for him. He is my best bud. We live in different states so it really does help keep us connected.

  11. Wow, this is amazing! Hope you’ve been able to keep it up so far!


Leave a Reply

