The Happy Nappy Bride

About weddings. About relationships. About the first year of being married.

Out of the closet September 7, 2010

Filed under: Home life — Happy Nappy Bride @ 9:40 am
Tags: , ,

*stepping up to microphone*  Okay folks.  It’s time that I come clean…and it’s not going to be pretty.  I, Dawn, *clearing throat* *heavy sigh* really like Lifetime movies.  There!  I said it!  And yes, I know that they are all variances on the same theme:

  • A high school girl has a huge crush on her hot teacher and when he doesn’t reciprocate, she goes super crazy.
  • An older married woman puts it on a younger man and when he tries to make it serious and she doesn’t want to, he goes super crazy.
  • A married man has an affair and when he won’t leave his wife, his mistress goes super crazy.
  • Sometimes they use younger folks as their subject (Young & Out of Control!…seriously, that was a theme one week); a young girl gets sick of getting teased and picked on and goes super crazy on her classmates.
  • Sometimes they use a holiday as a theme (like yesterday: Going Into Labor Day, all movies about ladies who are preggers).  I missed most of them yesterday because I had to work, but the one I saw?  Perfection!  A young couple falls in love, has a whirlwind romance, gets married too soon and then the woman finds out her hubby is super crazy and used her old boyfriend to impregnate her so that he could gain his inheritance.  Seriously…I am NOT making this up!

The common denominator?  Super crazy!  If there’s no craziness involved, then it’s not a Lifetime movie.  My name is Dawn and I’m here to say: long live Lifetime movies!

 

12 Responses to “Out of the closet”

  1. Au Naptural Says:

    Hiiii, Dawn. My name is Aunaptural and I am a fan of (most) Lifetime movies, too. I have even been known to watch Lifetime Movie Network for a day straight. *runs back into hiding*

  2. Frugalista Says:

    You forgot girl becomes obsessed with beautiful woman who has the perfect life and plots to kill her so she can take over her husband and kids! Those movies are too funny! And most of them seem so dated somehow even when they are fairly new. Gotta love it.

  3. Jameil Says:

    Noooooo!! Lol. My biggest pet peeve with Project Runway when it moved to Lifetime was that I was then forced to watch commercials for these awful AWFUL movies!! Saaaaaveeeee meeeeee! The last season got better and this season they seem to be non-existent. THANK YOU, JESUS!!

  4. K. Rock Says:

    I used to live off Lifetime in college. Lifetime movies and reruns of the Golden Girls was a perfect afternoon. But now I can’t remember the last time I saw one. It is just too much other stuff on tv nowadays.

  5. They say the first step to recovery is admitting you have a problem.

    “Hi Dawn!”

    And it’s OK, I’m addicted all things Bravo TV can dish out.

  6. MrsTDJ Says:

    I’m addicted too! And, I’ll mix in some “Snapped” on Oxygen just to not get totally strung out on movies. Love all three channels!


Leave a Reply

